Connections


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NazarethNazarethNazareth

My name?
Hello to everyone at home - with big hugs all around,
Writing home to share my experiences has become an important part of our
experience. Not that long ago, I would have sent you a letter or postcard.
You would receive it in a couple weeks. The fact that I can publish a
travel-blog log entry that ALL my friends (new and old!) can access
immediately is exciting and scary. Whatever the vehicle, my time with the
vast extended family we have been absorbed into has shown me the
importance of staying connected.

From the first greeting we have been loved and attended to by clusters of
children. Rachael always laughs and says “this is a busy house”. Everyone
has school, devotions, study time, and chores but there is plenty of time
set aside to be a kid. Every where we go they are in motion. They are out
in the hall. I went up to the roof to get some air and was greeted from
across the street by children on the other roof. Girls are dancing in the
main living room. Boys are playing cricket on the street through the
compound. Walking between buildings routinely includes playing a
All bluffAll bluffAll bluff

She seemed gruff until we got to know her, then we could see the love
hand game
with one, exchange greeting with another, get shown a new dress, and
incite a crowd by pulling out a camera. Laughter is everywhere.

I am not used to such a press of people, especially little people. I want
to be exhausted and keep my distance, but I can’t because they are why I
am here. Learning a hundred new names means looking closely into each face
and making an investment of attention that will reap a significant memory
that can be linked with a name that is foreign to my tongue.

I thought this would be the introduction to my new book on self discovery.... Then I realized: I'm on vacation and do not have to process everything to wise conclusion. So instead I will leave you with some picture of may new frends. Dave can I bring a few orphans home with me?
Sheryl


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

MonicaMonica
Monica

Girls in English class


10th March 2007

Widow from HIgh Caste
Hi guys, this is Vicky I want to drop a note and tell little bit about this women. Her name is Thulasamma, she was born and raised in a High Caste Hindu family. She was very religious. The village she came from is very remote. Some how she heard about Jesus and began start to come to IERF church in ongole. She has to come a day before to attend the church , she don't want to miss any part of the worship. Her family and village cast her out the family and village. But she faithfully served God and continue to live by faith. Her changed life showed the difference in the community and people showly talking to her and wanting to know what made the difference in her life. She began to witness in her village. After several years the family finally accpted her back in to the family and several others came to know about the truth. The village Chief gave a good testimony about her. She still lives in her village and travels to ongole on saturday to attend the church service on sunday

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb