Week One has passed


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad » Banjara Hills
August 9th 2009
Published: August 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So the first week is done with, and up until now I haven't been in too many places. I've seen Hyderabad quite a bit, and actually found some unpolluted areas. The parks are really nice here, it is a real refuge out of the busy city. This is also the best place to get a run in for me, but then again it is just too much fun running through the Indians on the street. I don't think they have ever seen a person going for a run before.

The other day while walking on the street we noticed a bunch of firework coming from one place. Especially some of the female interns got so curious that a picture just had to be made. When coming closer we found out it was a party after a local wedding. While me and Kenan laid back, figured the wedding is quite personal feast, the girls just had to take some more pictures. In Indian culture a wedding apparently is something that should be shared with the community. Simply by walking in on the wedding we became part of that. We noticed a dance floor with only about 10 men, and no women. By now the locals started to notice us, and how couldn't they as we were the only whites and considerably taller than all of the. That meant one thing, me and Kenan had to go dancing. Crazy wild dancing. Simply put, if any part of your body is moving it is not dancing in their opinion. And since gayness officially didn't exist in this country until recently, two men dancing very close together is not a problem at all. This led to the amazing situation of us Europeans intent on minimizing contact (as it would be considered gay in our clubs) with the in Indians maximizing it. Hopefully we'll score some of the pictures made there, cause it was truly weird, but funny at the same time. So after being touched, felt up, and danced with for about 25 minutes, it kind of was enough for us, and politely we tried to move our way out of the dance. Not so fast my friend. By now pretty much the whole neighborhood must have heard about the crazy dancing white men. And they all made it a cause to dance with us. For at least another 15 minutes we were harassed into these dances. Still the smile just couldn't be knocked of my face, it was just too much fun to experience this class of cultures. In the end we actually managed to get out, of course, and get back to our get together with the 'westerners' in the area. Hopefully more of these cultural clashes will come up in the next few months, but for now this really was an experience not to forget.

I'm unsure of the upcoming days, but at least I'll buy myself a scooter for now. Many of you will know that my liberty is something really important to me, and buying a vehicle to get around the upcoming period will just really help with that, above since I'm buying 2nd hand, it won't be too expensive. Don't worry I know a dealer here, I'm not gonna get screwed majorly, just a little bit. And for all the Bollywood fans, I might be in one soon... I'll get you updated on that later.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb