Day 2 of Sea Day


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 18th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 22.2855, 114.158

WEDNESDAY, January 18

I woke up early - and I had my clothes all out, so I would disturb Glenn. Glenn agree with me that any day we would be arriving in port, he would wake up early and go up on the Deck 12 to watch us pull slowly into port. However, since today was a SEA DAY, Glenn got to sleep in.

I am still trying to scout out a place for me to relax and to settle in and cross stitch. I library was too cold and small, so I walked across the pool deck into the Cafe area. I met a 72 year old lady, Norma. She looked lost. She needed some coffee that early in the morning. I told her to follow me and I led her to the coffee. Then afterwards, I told her to follow me out by the pool, there were some tables there that are out of the wind.

I had a delightful visit with Norma. She is from Wisconsin or Minnesota I believe, and lives 1/2 the time there and the other 1/2 in Arizona. Her husband died in 2006, and she now lives with her sister. Her sister is on the
cruise with her, but wanted to sleep in more, thus Norma was out getting coffee. Norma mentioned that she has no children. Her sister had a stroke several years ago. The sister's husband has Alzheimer's and didn't know what to do when she had a stroke. So the sister laid on the floor from Monday til Friday when the housekeeper came in. Now the husband is in an Alzheimer's unit, as it is very hard for the stroke-sister to keep the husband, and even Norma is the care giver for her sister now. (on a side note, we ran into Norma today (Jan 21) at the lecture and the sister was still in the stateroom.

We had a good long visit with Norma. We mentioned the Sunday Fellowship we are going to have - so she might come to that. Since I had left a note for Glenn to look in 1)library 2)pool side or 3)promenade I really didn't want to get up and get my breakfast at the cafeteria line. Norma went to get her b'fast, and then when it was my turn, I told Norma to look for a tall dark handsome man, in case Glenn and my paths don't cross. I ran into Glenn in the hall way.

Glenn and I enjoyed our breakfast by the poolside. The weather was overcast. On Wednesday, we had a lecture in the Stardust Theatre given by Peter. Peter was our guest lecture when we did the South America cruise 1.5 years ago. He gave us some helpful hints to the next stop in Vietnam. Our original itinerary had us stopping in Nhe Trang, Vietnam, Saigon, Vietnam and then Bangkok, Thailand. Now because of engine problems, we only stopped in Nhe Trang, Vietnam.

After the 1 hour lecture, we visited with Peter a little bit and then with Darla and Rick (CruiseCritic). For lunch, Glenn and I went downstairs to the Versailles restaurant. Just after we sat down, a 60+ old man, big guy with Texas A and M shirt on, looked at Glenn and said "I'm so sorry about your Cowboys". This couple name was Elroy and wife was Mia. Mia wore a hat and sunglasses. This Elroy was a Vietnam Vet helicopter , has a ranch near San Antonio, kinda wealthy man. He reminded me of Sid Morrison. A talker. Really big talker. Although we didn't sit at the same table, we talked to each other as we ate our lunch. We have seen them a couple of times on the ship.

I took a good 1 or 2 hour nap. Very relaxing day at sea. I remember telling Glenn back in August, when we were traveling to the Northeast, and there were several days in a row, where we were just "given out", we had lunch with friends, and one particular day we had 6 different folks to see in Lancaster, PA area, and I mentioned to Glenn, "I'm tired. I can't wait for that cruise to rest up!"

The violinist was performing on Wednesday night, and we didn't want to see her. It wasn't our kind of music. I didn't eat dinner that night either. I think Glenn went up to the pool side and got a hamburger to eat. Nope, we're not starving.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb