Correction


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
October 20th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody!
I made a mistake when I explained about Bali's currency. $1000 Bali rupies =10US cents, $10,000 R= $1 US, $100,000 R= $10. That was very confusing. I was glad when some shops accepted US dollars.
The people in Bali are very poor. 80 million people in Indonesia live on $1 a day. Some of the workers told us that they mostly live on rice. Rarely can they afford to have any meat. They said that their most skilled workers make around $100 US per month. A man on the plane told me that he had a couple of stone statues commissioned while on the island. He said that they would cost him around $90 each. He also told me that he only paid $26 for his hotel room and stayed for 3 weeks. He was a geologist from Houston and the only American that we met while there.
The flowers in Bali were beautiful! The hotel had pots that had 100 blooms in them. Tropical plants that we use for houseplants were used for ground cover in Bali.
I think that I forgot to mention that we saw the tallest building in the world when we were in Taipei, Taiwan. It is 101 stories tall.
We really enjoyed the time that we spent in Bali with the South African couple. He was actuallly taller than Walt. We hope they will visit us on their next trip to the U.S. He has a huge sheep farm with many African workers.
We are currently at the airport waiting on our flight to Delhi, India. This is going to be our hardest flight except for the one home. Delhi is a few hours earlier in time and the flight is long. We will be very tired tomorrow and will just rest.
All but one Cathay Pacific flight has been full. We still like the way they treat the customer. They have about 5 different newspapers available for you when you board. Usually at least 2 are in English. We are happy that we joined their Marco Polo Club before our trip. It enables us to load with Business & First Class. They also move us to a different counter when we check in at the airport. We can't use their lounge until we have more miles, but that doesn't matter to us.
I apologize that I haven't been able to get the pictures to work yet.
Take care,
Everette

Advertisement



20th October 2006

Rupees
Hi! I remember when we were in India the rupee was really confusing for US dollar conversion, but really easy for the Belgian Franc (I was living in BE at the time). Unfortunately, I was still getting used to the Franc, so I was totally confused much to the delight of several street vendors! I can't wait until you can get to a link that will let you upload some pics! Take care!
21st October 2006

Bali
I bought Adam and LISA t-shirts in Bali. I don't have a lot of room in my suitcase at this time. Toward the end of the trip, we are going to pack a bag of souvenirs. That will probably while we are in Thailand and later Hong Kong. WE each only have one small suitcase and they are very heavy. Thanks for writing. I enjoy hearing from you. I don't always have enough time to respond. Bali is very inexpensive. It is the cost of the flight over that gets your attention. E

Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb