Free & Easy 3 Days 4 Nights to HongKong - Prelude


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 27th 2006
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'll be heading down to Hongkong with Sam tmr for a 3 days 4 nights trip. This is my first time going overseas by plane and it seems apt that I am travelling via tiger airways. I see it from the perspective that I'm taking a flight service that is within my budget and it is my first time on board a plane. If it'd started with something expensive like SQ or SIA, I'd prolly not be willing to accept anything less than that. Yeah.. I'm pretty excited for this trip.

We'd been planning since Apr'06. From a magazine, prolly her World i can't rem, I read that it could be cheaper to do our own planning rather than getting package from tour agencies. I believe it is true! The total airfare and hotel room was much cheaper than the tour agencies offer IF, transport cost to go from Macau to Kowloon was excluded. I think at the end of the day, it MIGHT be just as expensive. :P

For the air ticket, I searched the various budget airlines e.g. Tiger Airways, Jetstar. I tried several search engines for hotel n air tickets. I can't rem all but one of them is Zuji. The tickets offered are all high end tickets and VERY unaffordable. I mean, if it's for business purpose, it'd prolly be ideal. (= China Airlines was an alternative as it is relatively cheaper than SQ. The whole experience of buying airline tickets is like watching an item on auctions. I was checking on the pricing every hour, everyday, hoping that there'll be a surprise sale like one way ticket for $1, return at normal price. That didnt happened. (= What did was that Tiger Airways had a promotion on their air tickets. In the end, the air ticket costs lower than the airport taxes n surcharges. In total, i paid abt $244 for return trip tickets. I'm ReaLLy proud of myself. Haaz.. Payment was no fret as I paid using my Visa Debit and the transaction was completed smoothly.

With the tickets in place, I didnt loose anytime in looking for hotel rooms. Just like what i did for the air tickets, i went on to search for the cheapest room rates that I could find. I was watching a few hotel websites, particularly Asiarooms and utravel. Utravel is exclusive to NTUC union members and having just applied for the card, I was very excited to use the benefits available. I had the impression that as the day draws nearer to when I would be going to Hongkong, the room rates would drop. I thought that since it was in July that I'd be travelling and Jun holidays is over, the room rates would be cheaper. But I was wrong!! It got more expensive. I panicked and had to make quick decision. I was thinking why the phenomenone. The reason I could think of is that, the rooms are running out cos many pple are going to HK at this time. That is quite possible, afterall, it's HongKong summer sale period! (= In the end, we settled for Evergreen hotel, located at Yau Ma Tei which is just a lane away from temple street. Yes.. I cannot wait.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb