Enjoy my poo poo!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 19th 2012
Published: July 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I hate it when you have to put on a serious face but inside you are in fits of giggles! Today, the boy who I had inadvertently called fat decided it would be funny to rip his nametag up so he was walking round with the word bus on his stomach, I clearly have the sense of humour of a nine year old.



Wow, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I came back into my classroom to find all my kids sat in silence reading through their lines and practicing, we then did a seated run through to check who had learnt their lines and (surprisingly) the majority of them knew them pretty well and a few even knew the whole script! I managed to get through half the play as a proper run through which worried me at the time but I think I’m a lot further along than everyone else and hopefully the parents will enjoy it!



I think the next two lessons are the reason I can no longer speak! As a rule, I do not sing aloud unless drunk or in the shower so I’m not quite sure how I have managed to spend the past three days constantly singing songs to the children.<span> After the success of “we’re all going to the zoo tomorrow” today’s variation was “we’re all going to ocean park (a large aquarium in<span> on Saturday,” I think this may have confused some of the younger children who asked me at the end if there was a school trip on Saturday.



The older class can be seriously mean; when I asked them what I should do on Saturday to try and get them to say “Ocean Park” one of them put their hand up I said that on Saturday I should “go back to England!” One troublesome girl had been off sick for two days and to be honest I think we were all dreading her return, I thought things were looking up when she seemed to be really getting involved and joining in with my game. At lunchtime I asked them what food I should try whilst in Hong Kong, I definitely lied and said I would try them all (chicken satay, noodles, Chinese food, wasabi peanuts). A few noteworthy ones were “tasty fried balls” (he meant balls),<span> BBQ (pronounced bee bee kew) and pizza hat (bit of a blonde moment, they were saying pizza hut). As they were leaving for lunch, I told the troublesome girl to enjoy her green tea biscuits and was met with the charming reply, “enjoy my poo poo!” Well that’s gratitude for you!



The afternoon event was a quiz, not too much to report here except for the fact that the youngest children seem to think that Justin Beiber sings every song known to man and there was one boy who set his watch timer every time I started a round and would come over and correct me if I announced there was 1 minute left and he made it 1 minute 10 seconds which was slightly irritating! The fact that the microphone was broken yet again really didn’t help my voice and poor Mareeka had to swap in with a TA after completely losing her voice.



We all had photos taken with our class and headed back to our accommodation where the five boxes of leftover pizza I had taken at the end of the day were much appreciated. A few people have gone to see Batman (a week before its UK release) but I decided it wasn’t really worth paying over one hundred dollars to just fall asleep! Instead I opted for a necessary shopping trip which involved carrying a bag of twelve toilet rolls around Hong Kong and being followed by a strange man rambling at me in Cantonese through the subway station (it seems that walking in zigzags is the way to overcome this one, I’m pretty sure this is also the preferred technique for escaping from crocodiles.) I also got sent flying by a commuter rushing down the stairs, don’t worry I’m absolutely fine – I landed on the toilet rolls!



Now I’m off to sample the Hong Kong nightlife; Thursday is ladies’ night so free entry and free drink for everyone without a penis, it’s a rather sexist idea but I’m not going to complain – I’ll let you know how teaching goes tomorrow….

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb