School Trip!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 10th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we had to be ready bright and early to start work at 8am. Being an early-riser, I spent an hour running around the park across the road and found the local track, an outdoor swimming pool, the fitness corner for the elderly (this was hilarious) and hundreds of people doing Tai Chi, I may join in at the back just for a laugh one day!

After everyone had turned their noses up at the breakfast offering of noodles or rice (again), we met our teaching assistants and began with some drama activities. Our team were then the first to leave on our school visits, they all seemed really nice until we found out that during week four we are expected to teach science and maths and that next weeks school doesn't have any of the resources we requested and has extreme space limitations.

In the evening we went out for dinner with the TA's, I was slightly nervous about the peanut situation but my cantonese friends reassured me that they would explain the situation. Having been reassured that my pork dumplings wouldn't cause me any problems, I drank my tea and waited patiently. When the food arrived there was a strong smell of peanut sauce coming from across the table, usually in this situation I would just walk out the room but this is slightly difficult in a restaurant situation. I proceeded to try and hold my breath whilst practising my chopstick skills by pushing my uneaten dumplings round the plate and tried to distract myself by learning cantonese from Sammy (my TA).

After my second trip to The Golden Arches in as many days, we met up with team four for drinks with an amazing view. Josh asked if I'd had a nice dinner and then he laughed and said "I can't believe they took you to the peanut place." Apparently they had given the restaurant this nickname in 2011 due to the fact that they like to sprinkle peanuts on top of everything - great.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb