Merry, merry, merry


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
December 28th 2011
Published: December 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday, my cold officially subsided and by nightfall, I have been out and about until this afternoon.

On Christmas day my family and I went to a family friend's house for a Christmas dinner . Turkey, cranberries, gravy, scalloped potatoes etc. were consumed, which felt something like a Thanksgiving dinner but food babies did not ensue. During dinner, we were not allowed to sit next to someone so that we can get to know someone new in hopes of finding something in common with them. By the end of the dinner we played christmas songs on handbells. Lovely. Then I spent the night at my best friend Mandy's house where we chatted and tried on wigs until 3am.

Following day we had high tea which is a super English thing and Oh have I been experiencing super English traditions the past few weeks. Love it. Then, we mozied our way to the night market on Temple Street which is kind of like Ladies Market but it's during the night and you find more trinkets and asccessories being sold rather than clothing and bags. Temple street by night is also known for their Hotpot Rice, which is rice in a very hot ceramic (I think?) bowl with whatever protien you choose. Super local dish and several restaurants serve them - you just need to know where to go. My my, super English and super local food all in a day!

Oh and you can get your fortune read via palm (traditional) or cards for a pretty good price (you can even bargain with them). We didn't do it but if you do, take it lightly and just have fun with it. English and Japanese speakers availible.

Speaking of food, we had some traditional Chinese food the next day but not Hong Kong style. I completely forgot the name of the province the food orignated from but whatever the name, it was bomb.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

At Marks and SpencerAt Marks and Spencer
At Marks and Spencer

Super English!


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb