In the beginning...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
September 27th 2010
Published: September 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

the new bags!the new bags!the new bags!

I've decided I prefer the ones with wheels!!!!
BEWARE: This is my first attempt at "blogging" so it probably isn't going to be too crash hot - and for that I apologise in advance!!!!! CAM xoxo

So my trip started yesterday morning in Adelaide. I got up, unpacked my bag (again) and re-packed it for the fourth time - just so I could make sure I didn't forget anything!

The problem was when I tried to pick my bag up and put it on my back. After a few failed attempts at standing up with the bag on and readjusting the straps (so they were on the short-arse setting), I managed to get comfy. The bag is almost as tall as I am!

So I called a taxi and toddled off to the airport - where the cab driver was nice enough to lift my bag up and help me put it on my back... while he and a few others on the footpath were laughing!! How rude!!

Checked in - bag = 14kgs and that includes 3kgs of tools and stuff for the build so I'm going to have PLENTY of space for shopping on the way home! Woohoo!

Got an aisle seat on the plane - thank goodness. But that excitement was short lived when some cranky old man got the window seat next to me. He coughed, grumbled, sniffed, snored and chewed with his mouth open. Ewwww. I wanted to "accidentally" elbow him in the solar plexus. Instead I turned up the volume on my headphones. The A-Team is almost as awesome now as they were 30-odd years ago!!

After a quick flight to Melbourne and a 1.5hr stop over there (boring), we were back on the plane ond off on our 9ish hour flight to Honkers - which was made bearable by a couple of movies, Top Gear and The Deadliest Catch.

Arrived in HK around 10pm and didn't feel like sleeping, so I wandered around the airport until about 2am, drinking coffee, people watching. After drooling at the window of the Jimmy Choo store I decided I needed some sleep. Bring on the Travellers Lounge. I had a feed and settled in for some well earned snoozing! Very comfy I must say! But I do have to thank Cathay Pacific for the blanket that somehow made it's way into my bag! Fancy that!! It came in
DragonAirDragonAirDragonAir

Hopefully it's not a fire breathing one!
very handy at 4am when the air con kicked in and it got a bit chilly!

Brekky was egg mash (not as good as mums though!!!) and these cute little toasty thingies - they were deep fried (of course) and had a very sweet taste. They were divine! I tried asking one of the ladies what they were but she couldn't understand me. Maybe next time I'll just try English and not attempt to speak fluent Mandarin like Baillie ! Haha!

I almost spat my scrambled eggs out all over the place when I looked up and saw that 5m away was none other than Jeremy Clarkson. I got all excited thinking that where Clarkson is, Hammond usually isn't too far away!!! But then I realised a few things:

1. I was not yet awake properly
2. It was not really Jeremy Clarkson
3. Because it wasn't Jeremy Clarkson, the chances of Richard Hammond being around were virtually nil.

Disappointed!!

So after my 30 minute massage and another coffee to make me feel better, I'm just about ready to hit the shops again and do some more exploring. I've rearranged the stuff in my little backpack so that I have room for a few little things that I saw for Louie & Murphy - just in case I can't find these shops again in a couple of weeks... this airport is MASSIVE!! Fly out to Kathmandu (via Bangladesh) later this arvo on DragonAir. Sounds like such a fancy airline........

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb