5th April, 9pm HKT.


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
April 5th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rooftop footballRooftop footballRooftop football

The only photo I managed to grab after the bus started moving, a football pitch on top of a building.
Having caught the ferry back to Hong Kong, I jump on a bus to the Peak on spec. This turns out to be rather a mistake, since the Peak is swathed in the fog that was clearly visible from the harbour, such that when I get there the harbour is not visible from the Peak at all. I catch the next bus straight back, and my driver again evidently has a deep-rooted belief that if it’s your day to die, nothing can change that and so be it. I’m concerned that, on the narrow switchback track along the mountain, it might actually be my day and I’d like it to be quicker than plummeting down a mountainside in a Volvo tri-axle double-deck bus, so I alight and catch the tram home. Work tomorrow, although no cornflakes because I still have a full box, milk ready but no spoon or bowl. Today’s theme is ‘Don’t pay the ferryman’ by Chris de Burgh, not in honour of the Star Ferry but in retrospect perhaps a better reward system for the Peak bus drivers in my opinion.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Hmm, this bus interior looks mighty familiarHmm, this bus interior looks mighty familiar
Hmm, this bus interior looks mighty familiar

... because it's still in First Group livery, for the non-bus spotters amongst you.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb