Hong Kong, WOW!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
May 26th 2007
Published: May 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Symphony of Light, KowloonSymphony of Light, KowloonSymphony of Light, Kowloon

Symphony of Light, Kowloon
Well I flew out of Bangkok on the afternoon of May 21st. I acquired a few things before leaving Thailand; I met a great contingent of Swedes, I had some great experiences and I took some excellent photos, but amongst other things I also picked up an ear infection. This led to the most excruciating three hour flight of my life. Anyway after landing at Hong Kong’s immaculate international airport, I made my way to Chungking mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon.
Tsim Sha Tsui is at the southernmost tip of Kowloon and seems to be the most tourist associated area, at the same time it is the most ethnically diverse area within Hong Kong. Moreover Chungking mansions are synonymous with budget accommodation, not just for the traveler. The apartment complex is stacked with, guest houses, laundries, Indian messes and merchants, and has a faint but constant curry aroma. After a few days in bed recovering, and consuming all manner of antibiotics, I managed to see a few things.

Last night I walked down Nathan Road, where you can buy anything electronic, to the Temple Street night market, where I wandered and found a great cheap meal. I then made
The Avenue of Stars, KowloonThe Avenue of Stars, KowloonThe Avenue of Stars, Kowloon

The Avenue of Stars, Bruce Lee, Hong Kong's favourite son, Kowloon
my way along the ‘Avenue of the Stars’ Hong Kong’s answer to the Hollywood’s ‘Walk of Fame’ to watch the ‘Symphony of Light’
The Symphony of Light is a spectacular multimedia light show, named the ‘World’s Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show’ by Guinness World Records. The show bathes both sides of Victoria Harbour under the facade of coloured lights, laser beams and searchlights performing a stunning, spectacle synchronised to music and narration that celebrates the energy, spirit and diversity of Hong Kong.

Toady I took the Star Ferry across Victoria Harbor to Central Hong Kong, so I could ride the Peak Tram up to Hong Kong’s famous Victoria Peak. These days both the ferry and the tram have become more identified as tourist attractions that modes of transport, but they both offered spectacular views and were things I had looked forward to doing.

The Star Ferry has been plying the short route between Hong Kong Island and the Kowloon mainland since colonial times. And for $1.70 HKD it is the cheapest way to make the journey. The sea breeze blows through the historic open plan boats. And really shows Hong Kong’s affinity with the water. I made
Hong Kong, From Victoria PeakHong Kong, From Victoria PeakHong Kong, From Victoria Peak

Hong Kong, From Victoria Peak, Hong Kong Central.
the short, steep walk from the Central Star Ferry Terminal, to the Peak Tram dwarfed by the skyscrapers of Hong Kong’s main shopping and financial district.

Victoria Peak is one of the most popular attractions in Hong Kong, and it was truly incredible.
Getting there is an unforgettable trip. The Peak Tram, established in 1888, is still going strong, pulled by steel cables; the tram climbs 373 metres (circa 1,200 feet). It passes the buildings on the way up on a 45° angle, and takes around fifteen minutes to reach to top. Looking down from The Peak I was amazed by the spectacular view of the surrounding city skyline, the world-famous Victoria Harbour and Kowloon, towering skyscrapers and peaceful green hillsides. It gave me a new perspective to man made structures.
Despite being held-up in my room for a few days, I still managed to get a feel for Hong Kong. A truly cosmopolitan city, steeped in history both pre and post colonial, but still a technological forerunner, so diverse it will make your head spin.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb