Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just doing this now because I'm currently sat in a library in central Hong Kong. I don't have long before my time is out, plus I want to see if I can buy any hobnobs for the other teachers before I have to leave again. I came to Hong Kong yesterday to get my working visa (the school paid for my flight which was brilliant) and it's been so good to be here, it's almost like going back to the UK but with more Chinese people. I've even seen proper pubs here which are unheard of in Xiaoshan. Dispite being surrounded by all the mod cons and western luxuries and food I'm glad that I live where I do, if I was living here it'd be little difference to living in London. Everyone speaks English and wear nice clothes with ipod nanos dangling from their necks. Back in Xiaoshan at least there are only a few recognisable multinationals (McDonalds and KFC) and the people seem much more Chinese than they do here (which is both a good and bad thing). I think coming away from relative isolation of Xiaoshan to a more global city has made me appreciate much more where I live and the challenges that I came out here looking for. Although it has been nice not to fight to make myself understood and eat a proper curry.

The weather's been a bit shit but I've taken a few photos which I'll put up when I get back. Also the other last bit of news quickly is that I've got a new flatmate, a guy called Coco from France. He seems really nice and laid back which is cool, he's spent the last two years travelling around Asia, this is going to be the first job he's had in all that time, he said he got by by only spending 200quid a month, but how cool would that be, two years of travelling around India, Indonesia, Malaysia and wherever else he's been, without working??

Anyway I've got to go, need to arrange to be picked up in Hangzhou. Hope everyone in the UK's well.

Advertisement



31st May 2007

Hi I am still here but cannot send emails from home at the moment. As soon as it is organised I send you a proper message. Big hugs and take care

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb