HONG KONG: walled village


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Yuen Long
July 7th 2011
Published: July 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

July 7TH, 2011
Yesterday we had 2 lectures on environment and indigenous peoples of Hong Kong. For the second lecture we went to the western side of Hong Kong to a building that was said to the village chief’s council room. From what I understood living in the walled villages is very misogynistic and unfair for women. I will admit I am a bit of a feminist so I didn't like their stupid grounds for banning women from making political or educational decisions just because they’re female. She described how most of the time women were banned from participating in festivities. She described how the men meander around town drinking, gambling, and smoking and how the women do all of the work because the men would say all of the time “I have a king’s destiny” because a fortune teller would read their destiny and tell them that and they;d believed it.
So yeah, I didn’t like the walled village much, I mean all of us, regardless of gender and regardless if we were foreigners or not could go anywhere in the village but still, I hated that they still retained that primitive way of thinking. After that we ate dinner hot-pot style; meaning we all ate from one giant pot of food and put it in our bowls. After that, some of the guys began playing basketball with some of the local Hong Kong boys.
They lost.
But on the bus ride back everyone began teasing James about his relationships with girls and from there on we (the girls and I) just talked about relationships in general when we went to Tai Po market. It seemed like all of us were finally beginning to bond now, even though the Taiwan students overall still seemed shy.
Tiny ended up taking us to this very popular desert shop in Tai Po market where the most popular fruit dishes and some other exotic fruit were served.
Then when we returned to our dorm, it turned out that Tracy and Kristine had a newt or some sort of lizard in their room. I found out this morning that Tracy remained in the room but didn’t fall asleep at all last night. I feel bad she didn’t fall asleep last night but I DIED laughing when she came freaking out about the newt being in our room. Now I’m in a lecture about capital punishment right now, but I realize most of the boys from out group are missing, including James which is very strange.



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb