Baking Soda Dynamite and No Chinese Food in China. Wait! Am I in China?


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
November 30th 2015
Published: November 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Baking Soda Dynamite and no Chinese food in China. Wait! Am I in China?
As I was going through customs. My bag got flagged because it looked like I had a stick of dynamite all wired up. That's what batteries look like nestled to a rolled up bag of white powder. They were relieved to discover I did not have dynamite. But then they had to ask me about the white powder. "It's baking soda!" Kind of like when I was a teenager and told my mom I was pregnant..."Just kidding! I only wrecked your car, aren't you relieved!".

I discovered as I was checking in for my flight that I was going to Hong Kong. Then as I was on my way to Hong Kong I discovered I had an 8 hour layover in Hong Kong. (After the most insane week of my life) So is Hong Kong in China? Yes and no. http://goh.ongkong.about.com/…/travel…/a/hongkongcountry.htm

I decided to check out the city to see how people live here. I think they spend most of their time waiting in line and eating anything but Chinese food. I decided I would do this cable car ride. I got to the place before it opened and waited in line for an hour to get a ticket. Expecting that as soon as you got the ticket you would board the cable car. I turned the corner and another hour wait! and more corners and more waiting! I freaked out. "What would it be like to wait in line for security?" I said F this I'm getting Chinese food in China? err Hong Kong. Everywhere I looked their were restaurants from every ethnicity but China. Finally I settled on a restaurant that had writing that I could not read. At least I didn't know for sure it wasn't Chinese food. I got my food. It was definitely food of Laos. Just not nearly as good as it is in Laos.

At least the 13 hour flight from Vancouver to Hong Kong was great! I think I slept some, and I taught some Canadian's yoga in the back by the lavatory and got through an entire flow on my own. My seat mate was awesome. Our first conversation was about how magical baking soda is and how much we love it. Aparently it can even cure cancer...Love that shit! We continued to talk about shared passions of permaculture and earthship and changing the world and stuff like that...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb