Day Three - Hong Kong - 'Wilderness'


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
November 4th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Waterways Walk

Behind where my dad lives is a very secluded walk way. Build by the waterways agency to monitor the rainfall and stop landslides. Areas have been concreteblasted to stop errosion, and other run off canals have been built. The walk is about 2km there and back. I spent a good 2 1/2 hours walking, exploring and taking 100 photos.

Today has been largely uneventful, my sleeping pattern has become rather odd. The day I arrived, hadn't slept much before so had a long nap in the afternoon, yesterday I awoke at 06:53 and after a busy morning, I again had a long nap in the afternoon. This morning I woke up, looked at my phone and it was once again 06:53... groundhog day! ha! "and don't forget your booties - cause its cold outside!" well... its not cold, but I don't like being up at that time. In an attempt to change this pattern I needed to make sure I didn't npa thisafternoon, so, after a cup of coffee and some breakfast, and a couple of hours looking at Lonely Planets opinions of Philippines, I went back to bed. It was very comfee and nice to just lay there but it was few hours before I managed to sleep. Then it was 12:00.

I felt exceedingly lazy, its different when you're on a day off of work and you just crash and chill out, but when your travelling every day feels like it needs to be used, and again, although I'm only at my dads place and not really backpacking yet, I still felt very lazy. So I grabbed my shorts, and a wife beater, and went for a walk up the local Water Authorities pathway. This may not sound anything close to exciting but Hong Kong is a bizaar place. My dad lives on an island which is its own paralle opposite. His appartment is up a small concrete road, with maybe 10 - 15 other apparetment buildings, that are all no more then 3 stories high, a stark contrast to the 30+ story high apparentment towers down the road that line up like fence panels. This concrete jugle is then set infront of an incredible mountain landscape and backdrop, its a magnificant malgamation of natures skyscrapers and mans, moreover, between the peeks of one mountain and some of the apparentment towers you can see Chek Lok Kok airport. And, if this wasn't enough, one of the mountains has a large Buddha statue on top of it, which I'll be going to see soon, but the local Metro station also has a cable car transport to the statue, and you can see this cars in some of the pictures below.

It is the vastly changing surroundings that I find incredible to see, and in strange way, they compliment each other.

Enjoy the pictures.




Additional photos below
Photos: 94, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb