Tigers, lions and...CHINESE PEOPLE, oh my!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
October 21st 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mong Kok at nightMong Kok at nightMong Kok at night

Pretty lights...
There are a serious amount of Chinese people here. I mean, there's ALOT. They are everywhere, just hangin out, minding their business. I'm constantly pushing through them or rushing past them. I still have to work on my push. I get really excited when I see white people. I feel like we should hang out, or be friends, or date casually or something. Sometimes I try to get close enough to hear them talking and see what kind of accent they have. I. am. A. Loser. But seriously I think the reason they put me at ease is because I know there is someone else out there who is maybe not so sure of their surroundings either.

Today I finally earned enough gold stars to be granted the right to go out BY MYSELF. It was awesome. After alot of convincing, a cell phone and enough $1 coins (for the payphone, just in case) to feed a small country I got on the subway alone. I pretty much wander around aimlessly until I find a shopping area. There's really no planning or much thinking involve. I just enjoy stumbling upon random points of interest and then exploring them.

We
Mong Kok at nightMong Kok at nightMong Kok at night

Almost everywhere in Hong Kong looks like this at night
did 8 hours of Ocean Park yesterday. Oh and there's news: I fell in love for the first time since I've been out here. His name is Jia Jia but I call him J.J. for short. He loves to be outside and his favorite food is carrots. He's a giant white panda bear but he prefers if you leave out the "giant" part because it makes him feel fat. He's cool. I also developed a new found love for trained sea animals such as dolphins and sea lions. And I went on a sick rollarcoaster that pretty much has you flying over the ocean. Around this time of year (aka around Hallowe'en) they turn the park into a series of haunted houses and Hallowe'en themed activities at night. It's kind of funny because the Chinese have just recently decided that they L.O.V.E. love Hallowe'en so everyone is so excited. The haunted houses are really scary....although I am afraid of my own shadow. But seriously people jump out from nowhere and scream and breathe down your neck and stuff. It freaked me out and I had nightmares.

Sleepy now...more to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ocean Park TheaterOcean Park Theater
Ocean Park Theater

I'm pretty sure these dolphins (seals, whatever) could ride a bicycle with enough training
Cable carsCable cars
Cable cars

Cruisin' in the cable cars at Ocean Park
Jia JiaJia Jia
Jia Jia

Isn't he gorgeous?


23rd October 2006

Great Post!
Hi Di, It looks like you are having a great time exploring so far. I really enjoyed your first post. Keep up the good work. Don't make-out with too many Chinese people! Have yourself a great time and stay safe.
23rd October 2006

DOLPHINS?!
FYI those aren't dolphins, you Canadian fool. Who are you kidding?
23rd October 2006

Oops
Oh yeah those are the sea lions. CHILL. Dolphins. Sea lions. Same diff. There WERE dolphins there too. :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb