Day 7


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 13th 2014
Published: April 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I found it particularly difficult to wake up Monday morning, all these early mornings, late nights and jet lag are starting to get the better of me! Packing consisted of running round chucking things at the cases, and retrieving the copy of moli hua from under the dressing table. Mostly sure that there was nothing left in the room- we went for our last toast and sweet buns brekkie and headed to the airport to fly to Hong Kong! There were so many of us at check in the flight people gave up and I ended up helping a Chinese lady distribute boarding cards (who needs passports eh?) and bleeped at security for no apparent reason which ended up in me getting frisked .... Nothing bleeped when I was checked though so I think I was the random bleeper!!! The airport had clearly been feng shui-ed, 2 expensive coffee shops (£12 cups of tea!!!!) and some luggage shops awaited us on the other side of security, not so good considering our flight was delayed by an hour! However flight attendants rolled out bottles of water and Oreos so we weren't too bothered. The flight to Hong Kong wasn't long at all, only really enough time to read some book and watch an episode of how I met your mother ;-) as soon as you arrived the heat really hit you...it was definitely now that I was glad I packed my summer dresses and suntan in comparison to the mac that was needed in hangzhou! The YMCA hotel is fantastic- right on the harbour front with great views (no wifi though boo and hiss) and really soft beds :-) unfortunately our shampoo exploded on the plane, covering helenas clothes and requiring a trip to the laundrettes and some time washing clothes with travel wash in the bath.

Finally about 6ish we made it outside- to temple street night market! Kowloon is absolutely buzzing and we haggled hard for our souvenirs and 'I <3 hong kong' t-shirts...it's a great place just to wander around watching fortune tellers and fake watch sellers :-) just avoid some of the weird sex stalls in between! Stopped off at a restaurant just off temple street for some food- and I'm proud to say it was the first time in the entire trip we ordered sweet and sour chicken ! </p><p>I'm pooped, so night al. ! Love Sophie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb