Day 2 Kowloon, The touristy day


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 24th 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day two want to do



Temple street to eat snails

Wonton noodles at mak noodles

Harbour mall

Claypot rice four season pot rice

Get yogurt

People watch

Din dai fung

Hot pot - fong wing kee?

Spring deer restaurant

If have time wet market



Day 2, I had an agenda of things I wanted to do whereas day 1 was just getting used to being in HK. I even had a list! I woke up at 6am (yes you read that right Dianne!) without the alarm clock, I guess I had good sleep the night before on our very firm beds. We finally got ready and out the door close to 8am and went downstairs to what I think may be a HK version of Denny's? We had, I think, a typical HK breakfast of ramen noodles and eggs, macaroni soup and eggs and strong milk tea (mmmm!) After which, we walked down to the cluster of HK tourist attractions - Museum of Space, Avenue of the Stars, Art museum. All were free since it was 'Wednesdays are Free' for those attractions. We didn't make it to the space museum since it wasn't open until 1pm but everything else was pretty nice. Once the haze burned off it was too sunny and humid so we headed over to the Harbor Mall for the ac. This mall is definitely huge, I found it mostly boring and had no interest in checking out the stores, so I'd say we walked through maybe 20% of it just to look for a place to get a drink and a bite to eat. We did try out the Bi Feng Teng flavored KFC chicken though! Flavoring was really good, but that was it, just eat the crust and the novelty is gone, chicken was uninteresting as in the US- at least they're consistent!



Finally left the mall and wandering into Silvercord Centre that had Din Dai Fung where we tried their xlb and an order of stir-fried Indian lettuce. I'll have to say, the skin on the xlb was good, but I've had better filling and soup at other places. The fried lettuce was fantastic though! I am not one to usually eat cooked lettuce but we decided to try something new and it paid off. At the lower level of the mall was a food court where I got my drink, which was bleh. Blended dragon fruit that was bland and watered down. Since we had just eaten, we didn’t get anything else to eat, so we just sat at a coffee place and relaxed a bit. I've noticed that in the shopping centers, it was very hard to find a bench to just sit and relax like we have in the states, does everyone who come to the mall just actively shop? There's just so much movement and activities, it's like we're all in a giant bee hive.



Later we head out and walked along and made our way over to Bowring street to browse the markets there. Ended up splitting a bowl of wonton mee and plate of veggies with John. The bowl was tiny, I'm sure they thought us weird to share the meal between the two of us, but they must have understood our mission to graze because they brought out an extra bowl for us to split the tiny bowl of wonton noodles hah! The noodles were al dente and wontons had a good bite from the fresh squeakiness of the shrimp. I didn't know that this was the shop that Anthony Bourdain went to, they had the articles of the visit on the windows of their shop. However, going back to my notes I took when talking to Ken at work about eating in HK, he did mention Mak noodles.

At this point, the night market at Temple street was starting to setting up so John and I got settled in at one of the seafood stands and I got to order anything I wanted and he would just eat, what a treat! So I ordered snails two different ways, and some blood cockles. We basically noshed on snails and cockles with a beer and people watched.

The rest of the night was just wandering and walking around. I definitely enjoy the night life here, something we don’t have in the states. You can just stroll around to people watch, stop as some food stall, grab some food - rinse and repeat. Tomorrow we head out to Malaysia so we will wrap up tonight early, bedtime by 1am after uploading some our pictures.

*photo link, http://s9.photobucket.com/user/Tanyahh1/slideshow/The%!E(MISSING)ating%!t(MISSING)rip/Day%20Kowloon%!a(MISSING)nd%!T(MISSING)emple%!S(MISSING)treet password turtlebutt



*disclaimer: please excuse any and future typos for the blogs, I try to type down things with any little time I have and usually it's me multitasking and trying to get pictures off the cameras and onto computers and then uploaded somewhere (with frustrations may I add due to the tools I'm using), so there maybe times of rambling and grammatical errors 😊

Advertisement



2nd May 2013

sounds like their night market is our mall, but we have air conditioning lol

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb