Day 1: Layover in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong for 19 hours


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 19th 2013
Published: February 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 19th January 2013

Tsim Sha Tsui >> Tsuen Wan >> Star Ferry

I started my nine-day vacation from Changi Airport by first taking a Tiger Airways flight to Hong Kong. The plan was to have a one-day layover in the city before catching a different flight to Okinawa the next morning. Connecting flights with two different airlines remained a tricky business and I would rather not risked my travel plans.

My flight arrived at 3pm in the afternoon and within the next one and a half hours, I had reached my accomodation at the Salisbury YMCA, at the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui District. I opted for a four-person dormitory given that I just needed a bed to crash before my early morning flight the next day. It was fortunate that during the period of my stay, I had the whole room to myself. By forking out only HKD286 for the room, I guessed I had landed myself a great deal.

I settled my first meal in Hong Kong with a nice serving of Century Egg Porridge and Chee Cheong Fun (Rice Rolls). The meal brought back fond memories since it was that very same tea cafe that the few of us had our meals during our last visit in May 2006.

The rest of my day was first spent in Tsuen Wan in search of the iconic Panda Hotel. However, my attempt seemed futile given that it was quite a walk from the MTR Station. Very soon, I found myself losing my way among the mazes of the New Territories estate. The Panda Hotel wasn't spotted. However, I managed a bowl of mango dessert before heading back to central Kowloon.

Back at the Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade, I took a couple of night shots of the Victoria Harbour before hopping onto the Star Ferry to the other side of the Hong Kong Island. The cool evening made the whole commute enjoyable as my camera was busy taking in the bright lights of the city.

Overall, my perception of Hong Kong had not changed much from my last visit. Like Singapore, it was as crowded as before and the people were always in a hurry to their next destination.

I just hoped that Okinawa would present a different perspective as I retired for the night in this busy, Asian metropolis.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



12th February 2013

That is really a great deal that you had the whole room to yourself. Shiok!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb