Destination Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
December 5th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first destination was Hong Kong. I didn't do much for the first day. I just roamed around the Kowloon Island. Before I left, Monique told me I had to try this dessert place called Healthy Desserts. All their desserts are made of fresh fruit and fruit juice. Well, it was not hard to find this dessert place. It was on every corner of the city like Starbucks back at home. The place was very good and tasty =)

My Dad and I decided to join a tour to visit Hong Kong's touristic sites. One of the famous sites is the Po Lin Monastery. You know how everyone wants to be the biggest or largest of something? Well, the Po Lin Monastery is the largest SITTING Buddha statue in the world. The Buddha is sitting on the monastery. Inside the monastery is a Monk relic. The Monk relic is suppose to a piece of a burnt charred monk that was devoted to Buddhism.

Out of all the times I've been Hong Kong, I didn't realize I haven't really been in Hong Kong. Hong Kong is actually divided into two island, Hong Kong(mainland) and Kowloon. I've always been on the Kowloon island which is right next to Hong Kong. Kowloon is considered the ghettos of Hong Kong. I think it's far from it... I called my friend in Hong Kong and he asked me where I was staying. I replied, "Kowloon." He kept asking me why I was staying in Kowloon side. I didn't understand why he kept asking me this until now.

The exciting part of my Hong Kong trip was my meeting with my friend. He took me to a sky bar on one of the high towers and dinner at a fancy sushi restaurant. He asked me if I wanted to go see a concert. Of course, I said yes. He wanted to go see a Jay Chou concert. Jay Chou is one of the most famous pop stars in China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. The concert was actually sold out and we were thinking about just showing up at the stadium and buying scalper tickets. Well, when we arrived, NO ONE was selling their tickets. My friend decided to call his friends to see what he can do. Within 20 mins, we had some girl bring us two tickets to the concert. I was really
Healthy Desserts 3Healthy Desserts 3Healthy Desserts 3

Here you go Monique!
surprised. So we walked in, I was leading trying to find the seats. I walked upstairs and didn't have any luck finding our seats until I asked one of the workers. They informed me that our seats are actually downstairs in the floor seating area. Our seats were amazing! I felt unworthy of the seats because I wasn't a crazy fan and I'm sure there people were standing outside that




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Healthy Desserts 4Healthy Desserts 4
Healthy Desserts 4

Can ya taste it?
24 Hour Fitness24 Hour Fitness
24 Hour Fitness

With my 24 Hour Fitness Membership, I am able to use the gym in Hong Kong. In Hong Kong, they call 24 hour fitness, CALIFORNIA! Yes, I was feeling kinda chunky after eating all the good food. I had to hit the gym everyday. It's actually quite nice. Jackie Chan and Yao Ming are part of their marketing campaign.
Long BeachLong Beach
Long Beach

I just had to take a picture of this....it said "Long Beach"...ok, I'm a dork
Buddha Statue and DadBuddha Statue and Dad
Buddha Statue and Dad

Ok, so I take this nice picture of my dad and the Buddha. Look at the one he takes of me.......
Me and some other girl and BuddhaMe and some other girl and Buddha
Me and some other girl and Buddha

Yeah, I don't how dad took this picture.....I got some other girl posing right next to me.
Po Lin Monastery Po Lin Monastery
Po Lin Monastery

Portrait View
Path of WisdomPath of Wisdom
Path of Wisdom

Each wooden slab has a Scripture phrase carved into it. It is said that if you walk the path and read each slab in its order, you will gain WISDOM.
Dad and I trying.....Dad and I trying.....
Dad and I trying.....

to absorb some wisdom from these wooden slabs...haha


13th December 2007

I miss you!!
Yeah for the travel blog! You know how much I love reading these. I am still laughing about the R. Kelly comment in the last one. Safe travels and keep writing!
14th December 2007

I am so jealous!!
You just want to tease me with the mango dessert! I am so craving that right now! =) Thanks for taking a picture of it. It reminds me of my trip to Hong Kong. I'm glad that you are having a great time. Eat more Healthy Desserts for me!! Take care.
17th December 2007

Looks like you have more than one dessert
if not, did you share them with your mom and dad?

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb