HongKong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
March 13th 2003
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What seemed like such a good idea in the flight centre!! did not so on the flight going there. First thing that went through my mind as i stepped off the plane at HongKong airport: 'what the hell am i doing?' 'and why?' 'what is the point in going 8000 miles east to a country where you know noone, and have no specific reason for being there other than to see things?'
Overwhelmed by the crowds, the strong odor of fried noodles and chicken and the unreadable text.....

I dont know what it is with me, i get an idea to travel that makes me all excited and i llok forward to it for weeks but when i board the plane the point of no return i get nervous, sad and i wonder why i booked it....maybe it was it is because it is a long trip & i'm on my sylvester stallone?

I felt like booking a flight straight back to london to be honest and after 2 days here on my own i was really wishing i had. Being followed by a gang of 3 men for 2 hours in Kowloon park (a good place to avoid
Victoria HarbourVictoria HarbourVictoria Harbour

Very jet lagged, disorientated & feeling quite sad. Couldn't quite manage a smile.
by the way) did little to lift my spirits. They were not making a secret of it either, when i tried to make it look obvious that i knew they were following me, one of them made a cut throat sign with his finger! that did'nt ease my pulse rate which was by now feeling like it was beating in my throat, the fact that i had about HK$2000 in my pocket made me alot more nervous. By now my fight or flight response was kicking in - big time, good job i can run like an cheetah because i certainly cant fight like one. Especially 3 chinese men who looked liked they were skilled in the art of KungFu!.

Hong Kong is nice a huge exciting city but not for visiting alone. Especially since my first night out i took a seat in a bar called 1997 failing to notice the abrupt lack of women and the peircing gazes of sleazy looking men in tight t-shirts !, i was immediately approached by a 4ft chinese man who asked me back to his apartment within 5 mins (he's a quick worker!!) i came up with the ingenious idea to fake illness and sod off back to my inconcievabley small - box room, (could have just told him i'm not gay???) huh anyway.

Counting the days until i can catch my flight to Oz.............

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb