Trying to make sense of it all


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
April 21st 2013
Published: April 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

So it has been a while since I have been out on the blog. I haven't done much traveling or going to new places so no exciting pictures or experiences to add to this entry. I am still trying to wrap my head around the travesty and destruction which happened last week at one of my favorite events, the Boston Marathon. Being born and bred in Boston this is an event that has been apart of my life and has such a deep meaning in how people come together from all around the world and are out there going at their own pace and running probably the hardest 26.2 miles in their lives. Some do it because they love to run and it is a challenge for him/ her, others do it to meet or challenge himself/ herself with a goal, others do it to help raise money for various charities and others just yes believe it or not just for fun. I know this will sound awful, but I was so happy that my co- worker and one of dearest friends did not run this year.... It just scares to me think of what ifs.. I am very thankful that all of friends and family that I know who were running or volunteering at the Marathon are okay and accounted for and safe. i am also very proud to have been able to view the news report from Hong Kong of how my fellow Bostonians rose to the challenge and pulled together to show there is still a lot , a lot of good in the world and that this evil will not win. I won't lie - when it first happened my initial reaction was block the doors, don't let any more foreigners into the US of A,etc. but as I have had time to reflect, I do believe the government needs to take a serious look at our sponsorship, asylum and visa policies but that we are a nation that was founded on immigrants coming from other countries to be free and make their own destiny so we need to make sure we still embrace that spirit. It is so very hard being away from home while all of this emotional upheaval is going on so I am very happy for the technology available to us at this time and very happy that Hong Kong is a bit more lax on allowing information in than mainland China. I have my USA Flag hanging up proudly in my apartment in Hong Kong.

Hopefully in June I will be meeting up with my cousin Jo Jo in Cambodia so I can see a bit more of Asia and I just booked my trip to Phuket for Christmas. I am hoping to go hiking on one of the many beautiful trails this upcoming weekend so stay tuned for those fun stories and pics. Until then be safe everyone and be very proud to live in the best country in the world.

Sue

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb