NOT MY DAUGHTER YOU BITCH! (You go Julie Walters, you go!)


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 15th 2011
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Fear not readers, I'm not dead! I've just been in hostels with only one computer so couldn't get on for long enough to type an entry! Well I'm still in a hostel like that, but I'm in an internet cafe for an hour in order to print various tickets.

So the last day in Tokyo was cool, met up with my frien Yoshie (yes, that really is her name!) and she took us to an AWESOME sushi place, which has ruined me because no sushi is ever going to compare to that again. Then we went to harajuku which was bitterly disappointing, it was like a rubbish version of Camden. Gwen Stefani misled me. 😞 Also it made me feel old, as I looked at all the cool goth and alternative clothes and was like, " ahh, this reminds me of when I was a teenager... wait... WAAAHHH" However I did still buy a hoodie and some cool stuff in a shop called Kiddyland which is just full of toys and cute stuff. I got myself a Catbus light pull (if you don't know what the Catbus is, go watch My Neighbour Totoro, like, now) some cool earphones, and some Hello Kitty baking tools to make Hello Kitty shaped cupcakes! I do regret not spending more in that shop actually.

Then Ralph headed back to Beijing and I came to Hong Kong all on my little lonesome. My flight was delayed by almost 3 hours, so I ended up arriving at like 1am, falling into bed in the hostel and then getting up at 7 to go to the Russian Embassy. *growls* So it turns out, although it doesn't say anywhere on their website, that for non Hong Kong residents they ONLY do 7 day processing... So I've had to cancel my flight back to Beijing (I couldn't change the date because all that airline's flights were full until the 22nd) and then buy a new, more expensive, flight on the 18th which is the same day I get my passport back from them. If they turn around on Monday and say "here's your passport, we decided not to give you a visa though" I might just go mental and murder everyone in the building. Not even joking. The ammount of stress and expense they've put me through, it almost makes me not want to go there anymore! I know Ralph isn't planning to be here for 7 days, so I'm not sure what's going to happen... I'm not going to have gone through all of this to not spend time in Russia now!

Anywho, so I made friends with a Canadian guy called Derek who was staying in the hostel too, and we hung out until he left yesterday. We went to a theme park (Ocean Park, I'm still debating whether or not to go to Disneyland on my last full day here), we got the tram up to Victoria Peak to admire the view, we went to Man Mo temple (which is my favourite temple I've been to so far, and I've been to quite a few now!), we wandered round the Botanical Gardens and Zoo, we went to Statue Square, We watched the light and laser show which happens every night (which Shanghai should totally copy, it would be cool there too), went to the night market and we watched Harry Potter. We probably did some more stuff too, but I've forgotten it. I also bought more stuff here than in Japan I think! I bought a t-shirt, an umbrella, some marshmallows shaped like sanitary towells (no, seriously) and presents for people.

Then he went home and I had to move to a different hostel due to an administrative cock up. My new hostel isn't as nice and I haven't made any friends yet. So today I went on a temple tour and went to 3 different temples and 2 gardens. Very pretty.

Hong Kong is really cool, it's a really interesting mix of the UK and China. There is even Marks and Spencer here! And it's pissed it down with rain every single day, just like home! Of course the temperature is a bit warmer though...

So tomorrow I'm going to Noah's Ark. No, seriously. I'm thinking it's going to be akin to Tierra Santa, the bible themed theme park in Argentina I went to with my parents. Brilliant. And then on Sunday I may or may not go to Disneyland.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb