Sightseeing with the wedding party


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
February 22nd 2007
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I flew in to HK from Cebo, Philippines. My flight arrived at around midnight. During the flight, I had heard other passengers talking about how many people where going to HK for the Chinese new year, and how packed out the city would be. Based on our late arrival, I decided to sleep in the airport. I was not sure how many nice places there would be to sleep, so I took one of the rows of chairs at baggage claim. I slept pretty decent till a Cathay Pacific 747 landed from Paris.

Once I got into town, I managed to get a bed in a dorm room. They said they couldn't guarantee a dorm bed, so I prepared myself for a mattress on the floor. Turned out I didn't need to sleep on the floor. About mid-morning on the first day I was able to connect with my friend Rebekah and her fiance Matthew for lunch.

There was a whole group that had flown in from Louisiana for the wedding, and the 20+ members of the 'Louisiana Delegation' and I spent several days before the wedding sightseeing.

They were on a much higher budget than I was. I had a dive youth hostel in a nasty dirty building (Chungking Mansions) in the Kowloon area , and everyone else was staying at the J.W. Marriott on Hong Kong Island.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Chan family homeChan family home
Chan family home

Located in the Chan Family museum


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb