Four A.M


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it's about 4:19 am in Hong Kong right now. Why am I still awake? I would really like to know myself. Maybe I should ask the bartender at Insomnia what he put in my drink. Absolutely no puns intended, I actually was at a bar named Insomnia. Coincidental, huh. So I decided to take this time to blog about my day since sleep isn't really an option and its the most frustrating thing when you're tossing and turning and counting sheep, but nothing works.

Today, I spent the day shopping in Mong Kok. Went to Fa Yuen Street (which is a street lined with cheap, yet stylish clothing stores). If you want true local HK fashion, this is the place to go. And then I went to the lady's markets...and those are a little strange. I think those places sell touristy items and possibly rip off tourists too. Unless you want manthongs, I wouldn't really shop there.

For dinner, I met up with a few friends and we went to Balalaika. It's a Russian restaurant and bar. Definitely an interesting experience. The restaurant was really nice and the food was good. There was a singing and dancing performance as well. But the highlight of the restaurant would be the in-house ice room. It's a freezer room, with ice chairs and tables for customers to hang out in for a few minutes while enjoying Russia-imported vodka. If you can't stand the cold, they provide you with a fur coat, just for the occasion! After dinner, my friends and I went to Club 7, then to Insomnia. You may be wondering, what is Club 7? 7-11! This is the way to party in HK. Drinks at the bar are super expensive. Back at home in Toronto, we would predrink at home and then head out for parties, but when you're in HK and out already, there's no point in doing that. Club 7 is just around the corner! the 7-11 convenient stores in HK sell alcohol and there's one right in the Lan Kwai Fong area, so most teens just meet up there, predrink, and then head off to the real club scene.

Just a note, I don't drink until the point where I start taking off my clothes, jump off a cliff, and go skinny dipping. Not at all like that, I'm a casual, social drinker. Just one or two will do. Or maybe just one, because there was definitely something funny in my drink tonight. Too much RedBull maybe.....and so I guess, Insomnia bar really does live up to its name.

4:45 am now. Maybe I will be able to sleep now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb