Stanley Market


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
June 24th 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I consider myself a half-local in Hong Kong as I make a trip here once a year to visit family, so I do consider it my second home. But once in a while, it's nice to visit some tourist attractions like the Stanley Market. My family happens to like going there for dinner at Chilli N Spice restaurant at the Murray House, Stanley Plaza. It has delicious dishes and I love the coconut drink! Coming from Canada, drinking natural coconut juice out of a coconut is a rare occasion unless I'm in Asia or some tropical destination. Or unless the coconuts go on sale at the local supermarkets, which is almost never and even if they were on sale, how to drill a hole into the coconut for my straw becomes a good question.

With dinner plans at Chilli N Spice, I decided to spend the afternoon in Stanley, just to shop around and enjoy the scorching hot weather. I took a double decker Citybus. I've realized that if you aren't scared of heights, the second floor of the bus is the best way to Stanley. It's definitely a scenic ride. From water to beaches, trees to cliffs; you also get to see some of the most luxurious homes/houses in Hong Kong. If you can handle the thrill, try the first seat on the second floor. When the bus makes those sharp turns, it feels like you may be falling off the cliff. I may sound crazy, but I love the thrill and the view is just amazing. If that doesn't sound good for you, then stick to the minibus. It gets you there fast and its just like a normal ride anywhere, except you might get dizzy due to all the turns and curves around the cliffs.

Once I got off the bus, I already began to feel the power of the sun. I walked around the market...I wasn't so much trying to shop for anything or to find souvenirs (as I do believe they overprice things there), I was just enjoying the feel and "aura" of the market. People may find it to be overrated as a top tourist destination for souvenirs and such, but I still think it has the little village charm. If you overlook the commercialization of it, Stanley Market has a long history and is one of the valuables of Hong Kong. After strolling through the market, I enjoy lying on the beaches for a while. They are historically less crowded than Repulse Bay. After a long, heated afternoon, there's nothing like settling down at a nice cafe for a relaxing cup of coffee.

Even in the busiest cities, there's always an escape. As busy and touristy Stanley may be, it's close to where I live and convenient to get to. I think Stanley has always been my escape.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb