Over Break


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
February 23rd 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

For the Chinese New Year I had a nine day break from school which I had planned on being very eventful. Unfortunately I ran into some petty problems, but it was still fun. On Saturday the 17th, I went to the flower market in Victoria Park. It was extremely busy. They sold all kinds of great gifts to give on the New Year (kids' toys, flowers, food, etc.). The following day, they held a parade in the evening at Tsim Sha Shui. On Monday I went to Susan's(host family) mother's home for a huge dinner. We had sea cucumbers, rice cakes, chicken, and fish. After dinner I was handed a red envelope containing money (which is given to you if you are not yet married by those who are). To show your appreciation you stand, take it with both hands and bow while saying "Daw-je" (Thank You). Finally we stood on the porch and watched the fireworks. On Wednesday, Sarah and I went hiking on Hong Kong Island. We saw the reservoir and beautiful scenery. We were actually determined to see monkeys on monkey mountain, but our attempt had failed. It was getting dark and we still had no idea how to make it home. On the way back we stopped at the travel service to inquire about a visa for china. When we told them we were going to Shenzhen they said all we had to do was get a one time entrance visa for $110HK at the boarder. Excited about shopping in Shenzhen the following day, I went to bed early so we could leave early. Well, after the 45 minute train ride and $33 later, we were denied access to China. When I got back home, I paid a visit to the travel services. Apparently, because I am American the one time entrance fee for us is $960 and anyone else is $110. So, that is why we haven't made it to Shenzhen yet, but we will eventually.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



23rd February 2007

You GO girl! Sounds like a great time~ Have fun and enjoy~
25th February 2007

Chinese New Year!
Hey Katie - I received a gift for Chinese New Year too! One of the Chinese girls in the lab gave me a bag of chocolate gold coins! I like your gift better!! I love all your pictures - almost makes me feel like I'm there with you. Take care and keep writing. Love, A. Mary

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb