Poridge, Surgeons & Trades.


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
December 6th 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

P1010253P1010253P1010253

Football team
Hello All!

Sorry I’ve been immensely slack on the blog front.

I thought id update you on the last 4 weeks or so before I leave to China on Tuesday. I’m getting a 24 hour train to Beijing then on to Shenyang to see a friend, Danny, for 12 days then back to Hong Kong for return flight!

The last 4 or so weeks have been great…I guess. If I’m honest it’s so fast & hectic I can’t remember last week let alone 4 weeks ago!

Through the power of coffee & honey soaked porridge I will try to remember a selection of the highlights.
Festival fun. A number of weeks ago I was researching a personal project about street art in HK. I was invited by local artists to attend (for free) a music/art festival. These are very rare & celebrated events in HK. So I spent two days filming this event in wonderful sunshine, great music/film & company.

The next week roles along & I see a poster for a big live multi-media/audio visual event headlined by The Light Surgeons. I do a bit of research & the event looks pretty good…but expensive, very
P1010343P1010343P1010343

Festival
expensive. Realising working for a production company has its perks I e-mail the company & the next thing I know I’ve got press passes for the whole event. I end up bringing 2 other interns, camera, tripod, lights etc on a road trip around HK interviewing artists. We arrive at the main event, interview/hang out with The Light Surgeons backstage then watch the main event.

The next day we get invited to watch one of The Light Surgeons DJ in a very random club an hour from HK. The event is fun but its 3am & I/we have no idea how to get home. Then a forceful hand on my shoulder (from one of TLS) ushers me into a van, which drives my friends & I to a Central HK VIP club where we dance until 6am & I catch the first MTR home. I’m glad I saw that poster!

I’m currently editing a 10min video about the first festival. I’ll post a link once it’s done.

Red camera. Another highlight for me was being part of a small crew making a very posh promotional video for a new 5 star apartment block. The cameraman had flown
P1010405P1010405P1010405

DJ light surgeon event
from England to shoot on The Red Camera. If you didn’t know, The Red is a revolutionary digital camera that can compete with film for picture quality. This was a tough 3 days shoot as we had camera, tripod, lights, track, dolly etc to carry around a VERY expensive new building where we would suffer pain of death if we so much as scratched the floor. It was really interesting as we spent on average 2-3 hours on each shot (maybe 5-10 seconds long). It meant great deliberation & time took over getting the camera, lights, track, dolly & composition perfect. Very interesting.

Dying trades. I was asked by the owner of the company to research a project on dying trades in HK for National Geographic. I’ve spent the last few weeks on this & its looking good. I’ve been told there is a chance I could get invited back to work on this show if it gets commissioned! I’m not sure how I feel about living here again, but it’s an achievement!

I guess that will do for now. I need to go to a local coffee shop (where two of flatmates are currently studying) to try
P1010437P1010437P1010437

5 star apartments (65HK million to buy)
& finish this edit. I need to hand it in tomorrow, ughhh. I hoped I wouldn’t have to spend my last few days working, but hey.

One of my main regrets here is I’ve not seen much of the landscape. It’s so beautiful here. Ah well, maybe next time.

Take care, much love!

David.xxx.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

P1010466P1010466
P1010466

Me with Red!
P1010473P1010473
P1010473

View from flat
P1010492P1010492
P1010492

I hurt my foot!!


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb