Football, Boats & Trains


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
October 19th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it’s been over a week since my last entry & what a week!

Many apologies for not keeping this blog up-to-date, it’s been so hectic here I’ve barely had a chance to relax & gather my thoughts.

I guess I’ll quickly update you on the last week.

After moving into my nice (small) clean flat on the Friday I decided it was time to play a bit of the old football, so on the Saturday I met up with a local team called Ham Sap (sweaty balls) & went on an hour long bus drive outside Hong Kong to a nice town (don’t envisage rural cottages with ornate hedgerows & postman Pat, instead imagine 50 story tower blocks blotting out the sun & many, many of them. On a side note id like to mention my ongoing ineffable awe at all the flippin tall buildings. When I finally get down to business of buying a digital camera (argued with someone in a camera shop for 30 minutes today until he forcefully gave me the $2500HKD id given back & essentially told me to leave the shop) I’ll take some snappy snaps & show you.
Back to the football. Went to this town (no idea what its called) played an official league game & scored the bloddy decider! Sweet deserts!

That night met up with a player & his wife for a drink in Soho.

Money. Its great, but do you know what’s not great about money? Spending lots of it on one beer. Drinking in HK is very expensive. Arguably a good thing (not a good thing).

I started work bright & early (got up at 5!) on Monday. I was kindly & suitably thrown in at the deep end. My first day was as a camera assistant on a corporate film shoot on board of a 66,000-mega ton cargo ship! We were filming a video for a company called Satlynx, who make & install what is essentially broadband on boats (satellite receivers & all that jazz). It was actually quite an easy & dull shoot, but the views & epic unusualness of it were fantastic. The crew was very small (camera man, producer, director & me) which was nice as I could be in the centre of things & chat to all. I also filmed on that ship on Tuesday, Friday & Saturday. I’m glad its over! It was an ok shoot all in all, but not especially interesting or exciting.

On Wednesday & Friday I was in the office working on a variety of tasks ranging from being an editors assistant where I was watching the final touches being done to a show for the crime & investigation channel & was asked to comment on anything I thought looked odd or could be improved upon (actually noticed a few things & he was complimentary), to doing some research for a potential show for Mega-Structures on the Discovery channel.

So things at work are going well all in all. I’m still finding my feet & my lack of confidence in some departments is holding me back, but overall things are grand.
The flat is working out well (even if my room is only big enough for a bed & a wardrobe) & I’ve now met the other 2 flat mates & they are sound.

Hong Kong is a crazy place that never stops & can be a little too intense sometimes. Stay tuned for a video demonstrating its craziness.

I guess that’s a good enough update for now. I’m pretty tired (getting used to that now!) & want to watch a film before I go to bed.

Tomorrow I get up early to film (alone) a demonstration happening in town. Essentially the Mega-Structures show (if its commissioned) will be on a new rail link from HK to Guangzhou (connecting HK to mainland China via a super fast rail link) & it will destroy a town, so hence the protest.

Any-who, nighty, night & take care everyone.

I’d also to hear how your all doing so do fill me in.

Love David.


Advertisement



19th October 2009

Lovin it
Dave, Im picking up what you are putting down. Great blog. Glad HK has started so good. Looking forward to the next update. Also loving the Mega-structures work.
20th October 2009

scored the decider...
Was it an own goal? Duncs
20th October 2009

crab dance
good to hear mate, sounds like they are making good use of a valuable resource (you and your monkey clown face) and your trying to make the best of it. Hope your sound asleep as you'll be up in two hours of me posting this (i think) for your crazy china protest! remember to stay safe and eat plenty of vegetables. Rich oh and you asked how i am doing, all is good here, half term next week and i'm off to spain for a long weekend on thursday, maybe i should start my own blog.....
21st October 2009

Another entertaining insight into the life of the big david. Ham Sap sounds like a Thursday night here! We miss you mate but it's great that you are having such an intense experience of another life. What a learning curve!! Big hugs to you xo xo
24th October 2009

I knew it!
Yup! ....always knew that Pete one was a bad influence!! Brilliant blog, makes me feel like I'm there [wish I was] and so very pleased you're busy and happy. Bring on the photos/film. xxxxxx

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb