Goodbye Georgia


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District
September 24th 2022
Published: September 24th 2022
Edit Blog Post

This morning we were packed and ready to go to the airport and home. Glyn ordered a Bolt to get us to the airport with no hassle. Sadly I was unable to see Kiki the cat to say goodbye, but instead met with the cat she fights with.
I had no idea what to expect when I arrived in Georgia and it has been very good. There’s never been a dull moment and I never ran out of things to do and see. There’s been a wide range of history from ancient to very recent. I’ve also learned a lot about what it’s like living in a part of the world that’s often in conflict. As one tour guide pointed out, it’s the politicians at war, not the people and that they hate Russia but love Russians. So no wonder it’s such a safe place to travel and I’ve seen so many solo travellers.
The only bad thing was the rip off taxi driver, but though that was annoying, I never felt unsafe and we got it sorted in the end with the aid of the police. I understand the desire to overcharge tourists from wealthy countries when you’re not so well off yourself, but don’t blatantly overdo it!
The food has been good, cheap and filling. There’s been variety and lots of veggie options. It is a good job I did lots of walking each day though!
There are areas I’ve not seen such as Batumi that I’ve been told is a very modern tourist destination on the Black Sea. I’ve heard it described as the Vegas of Georgia and a Mini Dubai, so it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea.
Currently this is a holiday destination for those who like to explore, hike, eat, wine and meet people. If sitting by the pool or tanning on the beach is your desire, perhaps this isn’t the place for you. However, there’s so much building and landscaping going on, it may become more like that.
I’m glad I came, but probably wouldn’t return as I feel I’ve seen most of the places that interest me and there’s still so much of the rest of the world to see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb