Sewing Machine????


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
December 13th 2011
Published: June 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 32.0404, 118.785

How hard is it to find a Sewing Machine in CHINA....

Well I thought it would be easy. Everything is made here. Almost any bit of clothing is made here...

My sewing machine had seen better days and I really wanted a new one so I thought instead of buying one and shipping it over I would just buy one here....

Ha..Ha...Ha....Ha... Think again Sunshine!!!!

We looked everywhere. My driver (Li) who's English is a lot better than my Chinese would ask the store people and they thought he was crazy.

"Why do you want a sewing machine?
There are tailors everywhere.
They will make it for you and it's very cheap!"

OK. So now what?


I asked the ladies, "Does anyone know where I can buy a Sewing Machine"
A few ladies said, "Try Taobao"
OK... I thought to myself.... "What What?"

Taobao is the equivalent to EBay. Only problem is that it is all in Chinese!

One of the Chinese Mums (Hanna) at the school has started up a business as a Taobao Agent so she does it all for you.
OK. I chose the machine that I wanted. It came with a traveling bag, a box with bits and reels of sewing thread. What else
My machineMy machineMy machine

It's a brother
could you want.

The machine arrived 6 days later.... But where were the extras.... I asked Hanna and she found out that they had sold out but I could choose from the box of bits or thread...... I really wanted the travel Bag...... My choice.... BOX OF BITS.


The parcel arrived 3 days later. As I was unwrapping it I thought I really don't need all of the bits but it would be a good gift for Serena as a start up sewing box.....

Well guess what..... all I got was an empty BOX.

You just gotta love CHINA.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb