Manchester to Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 28th 2014
Published: August 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I'm currently on my plane from Frankfurt to Shanghai about just over an hour into the flight over Wroclaw, and saying that I have had an eventful journey so far is putting it lightly.

I had gotten to Manchester airport well in advance which was fine. I had time to relax and have some food before going into departures.

Finally got into departures to find my flight had been delayed by 40mins. My transfer between flights was 60minutes in the first place so was not looking good. After speaking to the staff on the gate they told me that I would very much not likely make the transfer and because I was arriving at gate B and needed to get to gate Z it would be pretty much impossible. Unfortunately that was the last flight to Shanghai for the day but Lufthansa would arrange a hotel for me.

So I arrived at Frankfurt which is in the top 10 biggest airports in the world. stood up instantly although sitting at the back meant I still got off bloody last, but that was it as soon as I got off the plane I weaved past everyone and pegged it as fast as I could. My first obstacle involved an escalator. There was a women who had just got onto the upwards moving one so decided to run up what seemed to be a turned off escalator. Well apparently this one turns on as soon as someone gets on to it. Wasn't until half way when I realised I was not moving so fast so had to push harder which added a slight stumble at the top. My dreams of a rocky moment at the top shattered. Strained my stupid hamstring in the process as well. The top of the escalators were the pick-up point of the airport tram (shows how big the airport actually was) which I had minutely just made.

Obstacle two after a good couple minute run 'THE CHECK IN' everyone wanting the terminals were far gone so this meant there was no queue thankfully. Although according to the hand held metal detector I had metal on the majority of my limbs, crotch region and back. So had to step into a side cubicle involving him making me take my tops pretty much completely over my head to check my back and hand around the inner part of my trousers (slightly too close for comfort that one). He even felt the skin on my back as if I had something under my skin. Or he was a big xmen fan and thought I was wolverine. But after giving me a confused look he let me go.

With the lack of time to sort my crap out I chucked all the stuff from my pockets into my bag including my belt and ran with the 10kg bag open ( didn't have time to put the belt on). I did have to stop while running though as my trousers did nearly fall down.

Making use of the flat escalators (in the correct direction this time) I made it to the gate as the staff were closing up. Was greeted by the question are you from the Manchester flight and was then applauded with them then closing the gate behind me. Strange experience, felt like an end of an apocalyptic film where the armed forces find the main characters and are astonished that they found survivors. The airport the whole way round was completely empty as well which added to the effect. I was then greeted with puzzled faced when I got to the part of the plane my seat was. I had sweat dripping off of my face which I think contributed to that. I was helped by a Chinese man by pointing out somewhere to put my bag. It took me a while to realise he was telling me to move the one bag to the side so I could put mine in, but got there in the end.

I'm now currently above Minsk. Nearly two hours into the journey. 8 hours to go. Now to attempt to sleep.

Well I didn't really sleep tbh. Was just unbelievable uncomfortable to try and sleep but was able to rest my eyes for some time. Probably should have used the time learning some basic mandarin. Although being sat next to a Chinese person I would have felt a little badly judged if I wacked out my 'easy peasy Chinese' book.

We landed completely fine at 14.30 Chinese time. I was actually sat above the luggage compartment so had a little watch of how careless the guy was just throwing prams onto the cart. It happened that my suitcase was first off which I'm guessing would be the obvious reason of being the last on and the delayed transfer. The guy was fine with mine although was rather fascinated with a plastic medal I had tied to the handle. Was expecting it to be gone by the time I got it back but was there. I'm just sat waiting for my contact while he waits for another guy to get off a plane. One thing I can say is it is bloody well humid and currently 27°c. It's either the humidity or the pollution if it's bad in Shanghai, but it definitely is a little more difficult to breath.



I've just arrived at my hotel which I will be staying at for tonight before traveling to Hangzhou tomorrow. Apparently it's the cheapest place near the airport and wouldn't disagree with him. Although it has everything needed, what else more do you want in a B&B than a bed to sleep on and breakfast. I was advised that it would be safer not to leave the hotel which may say something about the area.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb