Jian Chuan Museum


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 26th 2011
Published: June 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we went to visit Jian Chuan Museum, a private museum 2 hours outside of the Chengdu city. The owner Pan Jian Chuan, a successful business man who is also a history junky and collector. After years of collecting, he finally decided to build a museum to exhibit his private collections. The museum was completed a few years ago. Currently the museum has 16 exhibit halls including Chinese and Japanese War Artifacts Collection, American Air Force -Flying Tigers, Cultural Revolution Communal Life, Red Guards and Chairman Mao Badges, Bounded Feet Exhibit and Earthquake Exhibit etc,. The Chinese-Japanese War hall had lots valuable photos which captured historical moments. There was a cave-like tunnel for the visitors to walk through and experience how Chinese soldiers fought the Japanese army in rural China. It was pretty cool when we found out the way to go in the tunnel was through a closet. One of my favorite places was the 3 inches golden lotus hall. Growing up in China, I have heard and seen people with bounded feet. I never have been to a museum where they educate people about the ancient Chinese foot binding practice. For thousands years, Chinese women bound their feet at young age in order to achieve 3 inches size or so called “ 3 inches golden lotus”. It was believed that the smaller the feet were the more desirable women became. The exhibit has thousands slippers and shoes which were worn by women with binding feet. Some shoes were as small as children size. I can’t imagine the pain the shoe owners endured. It makes me feel lucky to live in the modern world and no more foot binding. The earthquake memorial hall was my other favorite exhibit. I remembered I saw the news on 5-12-2008 earthquake and shocked by the death toll and devastation. It was nothing compare to what I saw in the exhibit. There were wall size photos of horrific earthquake scenes, smashed cars and bunch of lunch bags and backpacks from missing children. My eyes got watery as I walked through the display. I was very touched by things I saw there.
Jian Chuan Museum is located in Dayi county An Ren ancient town, 2 hours outside of Chengdu city. Telephone: 028-8831-8000



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb