Active in getting active


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
March 31st 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early to grab some odds/ends at the weekly Metro trip. I finally committed to buying some limited athletic/exercise equipment. Metro isn't too huge on that. Actually, a large portion of China doesn't seem to be keen on going to a gym. I found some cheesy exercise set that after a few minutes, has rendered itself useless. I guess you get what you pay for (100 RMB). I got a basketball that I concluded after taking it outside that it was not inflated enough to use. I got a badminton racket and ping-pong paddles + balls. I was really hoping that basketball would work out for me. Sadly, it was to no avail.

Otherwise, I worked on C-Student's lesson for today (Describing Trends) and found some exercise-related ways to amuse myself. The jump rope is total shit. I jump it once and it doesn't have enough force to come over a second time. I tried to alter my tiny table to make it out to be a tiny ping-pong setup but that didn't work. So, I just tried to use the equipment I got and was overall disappointed with that.

Keeping healthy will be much harder here than in Korea.

Friday will be my straight R&R day. For one reason or another, I haven't slept in for quite a while despite most of my classes being in the afternoon. Next week, I only have 3 classes because Monday classes will be scheduled for Saturday and it's an odd week so no extra reading classes. Just my oral English classes. I'm trying to think of ways to set up some kind of after school activity to teach students who may be interested in English beyond the 50+ student classroom. It's a good way to really provide a better learning experience for conversational English. I'll have to talk to Australia since he is one who gave me the idea. Would be nice to extend my volunteering time at Mai's. Could look good on my resume also.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb