China Bound


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
July 30th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Two weeks tomorrow.....




Welcome to my Blog! It's now the 30th of July and just over two weeks until I leave home for what could be as long as a year. The current feeling is an interesting movement from great excitement to outright terror and then right back again, the more i read about China the more these feelings intensify. To say I don't have some apprehensions going into this would be quite obviously a lie but these fears are consistently outweighed by the excitement of living in what may become the dominant nation of the century, a country that is not just foreign but almost alien to me with an alien language, alien alphabet, alien diet and incomprehensibly alien culture. What scares me about China also excites me from eating every part of every animal to living in a city where 99.9%!o(MISSING)f the population cannot speak the language and may not even have seen an English person before provides a massive challenge but should also provide some amazing experiences.

Well onto the plan of action; Two weeks tomorrow we depart for Thailand where we'll be spending a week then its onwards to Yangshuo in the South of China (Via Kuala Lumpur). Yangshuo is where the training will take place and ill hopefully magically transform from lazy history graduate into superstar language teacher, its as simple as that I am sure.

With only two weeks to go my sheer lack of preparation means the next two weeks requires lots of rushing around and sorting out. This along with my thrilling office job means that ill be pretty busy until i go. Hopefully ill get chance to see most of my friends and family before i go but if i don't get chance to see you make sure you keep reading this blog and keep in touch with me while im away!

I think thats enough for tonight, the daily grind of the 9-5 once again calls tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb