All settled in


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
October 5th 2005
Published: October 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Where its hip to be paleWhere its hip to be paleWhere its hip to be pale

On sunny days, students walk under a sea of brightly colored umbrellas
I have been in China for over a month now, and despite reminding myself daily to stay in touch with everyone back at home, it has taken awhile to get this page going. So, please forgive, be kind and send replies.
I am teaching at a large university; I have five classes and about 250 students, who have all been given English names. Reciting roll took my American tongue the better part of each class, pronouncing each Chinese syllable, so that was remedied after the first week. The students are very kind, but I have come to realize that teaching is tough work. I would like to apologize to every instructor that may be reading this; if I ever failed to talk in class or make clear that I understood what was going on, please forgive me. I seem to have a hard time knowing if what I say gets through; my students are too polite and quiet to correct me or tell me if I am boring or unclear. Which is fine, I guess, because I know that I am doing a wonderful job anyway, they don't need to tell me.
Jinhua is a city of just under a million,
Roudy studentsRoudy studentsRoudy students

My undergraduate students, a wild bunch
which makes it the fifth largest city in the province. It is mind-boggling; by comparison it is like I am in Hutchinson, times 500- not exactly the big city, with things to do all the time, but certainly not the most rural place around.
My university, Zheijung Normal University, specializes in training the finest middle school teachers around. The campus is growing quickly; there more than half of the building look brand new, and three are under construction. Most of the 20,000 students live on campus in men’s and women’s dorms, separated by walls and guards that keep boys in their proper place.
The food is delicious. During my first proper meal in Jinhua, someone in the restaurant ordered fish, so the cooks took one out of the tank and dropped it on the ground a few times before cooking it up. It took me a few days figure out how eating here worked, but no I know how things work, and I am eating like mad. Perhaps most delightful, is the breakfast that I share each morning with the Quaker Oats man (when I saw his shining face within the mess of Chinese on the grocery store shelf, I
Parking problemParking problemParking problem

For those who complain about not being able to find a spot at Washburn, try fitting your ride in this. Then, try getting out when they've double parked!
nearly cried). Other than mornings with him, I am always eating out, which can usually be done for about a dollar, and is more tasty than I can say!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Our own Mt. FujiOur own Mt. Fuji
Our own Mt. Fuji

There is a famous mountain in Jinhua, and it shares geological similarities with Mt. Fuji, enjoy!


5th October 2005

Great photos!
J-Cri - Thanks for getting the page up. The photos are fabulous! Dr.B
6th October 2005

Hello from Kentucky!
Jessica, it is so great to hear from you and see your face beaming out at me from my computer screen. Take it from an experienced teacher, one never really knows if you are getting through, just keep plugging along and eventually you will find your comfort zone. Your collegues are probably having the same experience as you, and don't be afraid to talk to them, even if they don't have advice, sometimes it helps just to talk to someone. It sounds like you have settled in and are enjoying the local cuisine. (I wouldn't order the fish!) Isn't it funny how something as mundane as the Quaker oats guy seems like an old friend when you are browsing through the local Chinese grocery. No big news here except the new Kentucky home is under roof and is scheduled to be completed before Christmas. We just got back from a week at the beach in SC and everyone is OK. I started to say normal, but let's just say everyone is healthy and it was so wonderful to spend a week together. I almost didn't mind when Sean and Erin ganged up one me. They could learn some respect from your students. Jess, I'm going to sign off. I would love to send you money, supplies, anything. Let me know. I love you and I am keeping you in my heart. Keep a good thought and remember you are getting through to someone and you will make a difference in many people's lives. I love you, Aunt Lainie PS Loved the picture of the bicycles.
8th October 2005

What an amazing coincidence!!!!!!!
I just ate lunch today with Linder and Stacy (Salmon, who now lives in Dallas)and your name of course came up when we were talking about our fabulous times on Intern Row!!!!! Then I come home and have your e-mail, strange how those things happen! It looks like you're having an incredible experience, I can't imagine! At any rate, I know you're certainly leaving your mark on each person you're in contact with, as only you can do-you're wonderful and I had such a happy/nostalgic feeling seeing your name in my e-mail inbox! I'm doing well, working hard, loving my job, but missing school (did I really say that?). My guys and my Sunny-dog are doing well, and I became a first-time aunt in May to the most precious little girl in the world (next to you, of course! :)). Anyway, I'm so happy that you're happy and I'm most happy to hear from you! Love, Mandie

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb