I climbed a mountain today....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm in a new city! Two more nights in Taian, then off to another city. I'm typing from a seedy internet cafe where other chinese teens are playing creepy games as we americans type furiously to back home! I thought I would send a update, however.

A couple nights ago we had a new meal.... hot pot. As if I wasn't bad enough with chopsticks already let's introduce boiling hot water & raw meat. It was like bad fondue, with gross meat. I accidentally ate what appeared to be a "fish ball" and splattered myself with various other sauces in an attempt to eat. My finger now has a callus, and forks are becoming more and more rare fortunately without boiling water I can eat slowly with some success.

Yesterday I rushed furiously to buy a new camera since mine had died. I really wanted to get a new one before I left but decided I was being spoiled. Its screen stopped working & focusing, and I really didnt want to miss out on anything. I found a department store & spent lots of yuen on my visa to make more memories. Eek. We went to a wal-mart in tianjin (ha ha) but they only accepted domestic credit cards 😞 Anyway, then the train ride here yesterday was indescribable...... we were in sleeper cars which sounded really nice.. until it was 3 bunks on each side in a tiny little car..... us on the top bunks... with strange Chinese men on the others. Thank god they were there in the beginning to shimmy our suitcases up, and then i stayed in my little top bunk laughing at Ellen trying to be comfortable in hers. Some girl dropped her credit card down the toilet..... funny funny stuff. It was a tiny hole too, so she must've been doing something weird. Oh well. 8 hours later... here we are.

Over 6000 steps later... the Taishan mountain has been climbed. What a great day. Wow. I wish I had brought my postcards so I could type out some of the history.. basically it's one of the 5 sacred mountains in China & a huge deal. Amanda & I climbed up together; some of the group rode a cable car. Not only would this have made me hyperventilate.. but I enjoy saying I climbed a mountain rather than rode up to the top & back down 😊 We ate lunch at the hotel at the top, climbed to the summmit, peered around, took pictures, and then went back down. The way down was about a million times easier. The scenery was BREATHTAKING & there were several different inscribed, red chinese symbols on the rocks that I wish I could've read. I still cannot believe I climbed the whole thing... some of them were so steep it was tough to believe anyone ever carved them. I have crazy pictures. There were neat little temples with people praying in different areas, and soooo many older people making us look like slobs. Amanda & I made friends with a mom & daughter... she kept telling us "let's go!" becuase we were resting.. she plays ping pong every morning. phew, i need to start. It was such a rush at the top, and when we came out from lunch we were actually IN a cloud. Crazy.

The food is still wearing thin... the things they deem edible & yummy just boggle my mind. I'm trying to sustain myself anyway. Tomorrow we're driving to Qufu for the day; the birthplace of Confucius. I'm very excited to see a forest that sounds pretty cool & explore more parts of China. The day after..... another 9 hour train ride. Hopefully actually in seats. EWW! People still keep taking pictures with us, makes me laugh everytime. Again, not sure when I'll write but hopefully soon! Love, steff.



Advertisement



21st May 2007

Hi
What an adventure you're having! I love that you're interacting with the people and trying to use chopsticks. Ha, I'd love to see that. Glad that you got a new camera, I would hate to have you miss any memories. Love you much.
21st May 2007

holy hell
i will start a pool here in the US of just how much less you will weigh when you return. good luck with more animal testes. :)
21st May 2007

camera
Don't throw away your old camera, it may just need a new battery!
21st May 2007

Wal mart ?!?!? At least I can say we traffic the same places...heehee. The mountain sounds awesome. I hope that was a cloud and not pollution when you came out from lunch!! You will have to teach me how to use chopstix when you get home.Love you lots!
21st May 2007

you would climb the mountain...
haha, somehow it doesn't surprise me that you climbed while others drove!! gotta love ya!! I can't believe you weren IN a cloud, that must have been amazing!! I'm glad you were able to get another camera!! I miss you and love you tons!! muah

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb