Connected


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On a pedeloOn a pedeloOn a pedelo

There are loads of these 'taxis' in Xiaoshan, they're dead cheap plus you feel like a king which is well worth the 30p they cost.
I think I'm finally sorted now in China, signed the contract with English First (EF) a couple of days ago for a year's tenure (is tenure the right word?) so going to be here for a while. I get 10 days paid holiday which is really good for China plus I have this lovely apartment all for free. They have this liason officer person at the school who sorts out any problems the teachers have, and she's great she's fixed me up with the internet and in the next couple of days I should get a house phone and all my bills get taken out my wage at the end of the month so I don't even have to worry about them.

Can't remember how much I wrote before, so sorry if I'm repeating myself, but my apartment's a two bedroom although they're still looking for another teacher so at the moment I have it all to myself. I work with eight other teachers, one Chinese (Richard), an American (Patrick, who looks like Tarn), Philip, Chris, Mike, Tessa, Tania (all Brits) and Tania (a Spaniard). They're a nice bunch all about my age and have been here between six months
My new room. My new room. My new room.

It'll be better when I've got some posters and stuff up, but it's pretty nice and has a desk just out of shot.
and a couple of years. The only problem is that they're all quite sporty outdoors people and have organised a sports day every Wednesday where they play a different sport amongst themselves or go hiking around the surrounding countryside. It doesn't sound as bad when I write it down but the only sport I've done in the last four years is the game of rounders that Ellie organised last summer which I was dead against anyway. So I'm going to take up smoking to as an excuse to get out of anything too strenuous.

Because the guys have been with each other for at least six months they're a tight knit group, Philip and Tessa are going out and so are Tania and Chris so it's a bit incestous but there aren't any other westerners in this part of Hangzhou. I've been out with them a couple of times and I would have taken some photos but it would have looked a bit weird I think if I had straight away so I'll try and take some another time.

I'm giving my first lesson tomorrow, it's a class of six 11 to 13 year olds and it doesn't
The party room!The party room!The party room!

Woo! No parties yet, but there will be. One day.
start till 7pm so I'm not sure how alert the kids are going to be seeing as it'll be a Friday. But hopefully it'll go well, I'm prepared and it's my only lesson of the day so I'll be able to get myself ready in plenty of time. Although Saturday and Sunday are the busiest days here so I'll have to spend time getting ready for them too.

Sorry this is a very factual entry, I don't think I've even got any interesting photos to stick up. I'll put some up of me as I've got an interesting face and I didn't get the favouable reaction with my short hair from most people as I was hoping for.

For those that are coming out to visit, Xiaoshan is surrounded by beautiful hilly countryside and although I'm pretty far from the centre of Hangzhou there are regular buses and the taxi only costs 80p so it's not too bad, plus there are some good shops here anyway.

Cheerio.

Advertisement



8th March 2007

And not a link to here for me:P Well, appartment looks pretty nice! And posters - you have Tibetan flags;) Cheers!
12th March 2007

When London Meet Xiaoshan
Welcome, Alex! I don't know if U can stand the Air Pollution here. Plus, be careful in the street cause the traffic here is badly ruled. A londonese teaching English in Xiaoshan for one year: Incredible!
13th March 2007

Settled In
Hi Al, Nice to see that you have a place to stay and you convinced them to give you a job! I wish you all the best with your new vocation! By the way, I liked your hair. I'm not going to write anymore, as I have more news on the way... Tip: maybe for the next sports Wednesday you should organise a game of rounders, and get in some Chinese kids to be fielders! We are planning a game reunion in Dulwich park when it gets warmer. love Ellie
13th March 2007

I'm back
Nice to see your 2nd literal in Hangzhou, go on please. I'm expecting.
20th March 2007

Feel like dancing
At the house party on Sat night we dedicated a dance to you and all did that move you're famous for (you know-the one where you do karate chops and push your lips together). It was emotional-Si cried (he didn't really-he just made the strongest punch since Sewage and got everyone wrecked). Just wanted you to know that you were in our thoughts for the whole of the Chaka Khan song. Big love xx
31st March 2007

say a quick hello from a stranger
Welcome to Hangzhou!Hope you will enjoy the life here...Spring is the best season in Hangzhou, a visit to the West Lake with your friends is strongly recommended:)

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb