Back to work


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou » Tonglu
January 5th 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I start work at 3pm. I'm off to the local middle school to do a general interest English class, then I'll have my wee kindergardeners (who I think will be hyper after two weeks off) and, this evening, my adult learners.

I am shattered. The journey was about 28 hours door to door and I only managed to doze for about 2. Of course, compared to the mammoth 40 hours trip on the way home it was a breeze, but still very tiring, especially after the last three days at home when I pretty much did nothing but eat. I went to bed at 10 last night and woke up 11.30am because someone phoned me! I hope I haven't slept too long, becuase I really need to be able to sleep tonight. We aren't off until Monday now so I need to be able to at least *pretend* to be switched on!

Our journey wasn't too bad actually. Both planes were full so spacewise it was cramped, and the food choices weren't great for me (what's the all the fish Emirates??), but what I did have was fine, and the second plane had a jazzy new entertainment system with a much bigger and clearer screen, and more choice of movies. I didn't do any work, but instead watched Never Let Me Go (I loved, loved, loved the book when I read it years ago and usually that means I won't like the film so much, but not in this case. And my new favourite man, Andrew Garfield, was in it which was a nice wee bonus), The Disappearance of Alice Creed, Grown Ups and The Switch. I also beat Tarik several times at Tetris 😊

I thought we were going to have problems with our luggage. Emirates actually give you 30kg each, which is a lot of economy but we were still loads over so had transferred all our stuff to canvas bags which are obviously lighter thatn suitcases, but we still had to leave stuff behind. The weight was mainly due to presents that Tarik had to buy for government people here, but I'm sure all my packets of food didn't help matters. We were convinced the bags would have burst or something, but luckily they were in one piece when they got to Pudong International. Not so luckily, a sniffer dog has picked up a scent from one of them, and Tarik had to go into a wee room while they rescanned the bag. The didn't look inside it, which was odd, but when it scanned ok let him go. There were about 9 bags from our flights alone that I saw get the same treatment so obviously Chinese police are on top of their smuggling laws. The only mishap with the bags was that one of my new nailpolishes opened or burst or something, so my bag stinks, but luckily my pyjamas were on top of the bottle so that's the only thing that's be affected, and even then it's just a little on the leg.

Rach had a much more interesting journey. Her flight was brought forward by 6 hours which really disappointed her as not only did she miss having a final breakfast with her family but she also had to get a cab to the airport. I think she was most cross because KLM didn't bother to tell her the flight was moved and she only found out when she went to check in online. She had a 10 hour wait in Amsterdam and was only given a 5 euro voucher in compensation, which is ridiculous when a McDonald's meal deal costs 7.50 euros. She did meet some nice people though and chatting away killed several hours for her. Poor thing though, when she got back, around lunchtime, she found our fridge freezer had defrosted itself so had to clean that up, and that although our ayi had cleaned all out bedding she hadn't remade our beds, so, angel that she is, she made mine for me, knowing that when I got in at 9.30pm I'd just want to fall into it!

Oh, and if for some reason I had forgotten I was travelling back to China two things on the plane reminded me. One was the table manners of the guy beside me, and the other was a woman commenting on my skin as I waited for the loo. She called me over to where she was sitting and asked if I'd been to the doctor about my skin. I replied, "what do you think?" and then she told be about some Vitamin A tablets to try ( I *think* she might mean retinoid, which is what I am on anyway) Tarik says I was rude, given that she was only trying to help, but firstly, I didn't know she was going to say something helpful. Of the many, many Chinese people who have commented on my skin not a single one has said anything remotely helpful so far, so to be fair, useful advice was not expected. Maybe if I was a nicer person I'd give everyone the benefit of the doubt, but one thing living here has given me is a thicker skin and a tougher attitide. And secondly, OF COURSE I'VE BEEN TO THE BLOODY DOCTOR!! And if I hadn't, then surely that would mean that the spots don't bother me, in which case, she shouldn't be making suggestions!

Another reminder that we'd landed in China came with the pervasive smell of cigarettes that assailed me pretty much as soon as we left the baggage claim, until I walked into the house. Thought I was going to be stuck outside actually, I don't have a doorkey at the moment and rach didn't hear the buzzer or her phone ringing. After about 10 very cold minutes I was begining to have visions of just bedding down in the communal stairwell!

And that's the final thing about being back in China. The cold. This afternoon is 4 degrees, which isn't that cold, but it's colder in the house for some reason. I've had my AC on all night, and only left my room once to go to the loo and grab some breakfast. I miss central heating!




Advertisement



6th January 2011

I am so glad you made it back safely and without the drug haul being sniffed out of your bag! :) Just think of all the stories you have to tell love! Sorry I missed you this Christmas. Sending love. Rach x
7th January 2011

:)
thank you rach. I sent you a (very short) email the other day - how was SA? Are you suffering withdrawal symptoms? x x

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb