Mengyong - Lincang Prefecture


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
September 15th 2011
Published: September 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

One again heading into Lincang Prefecture. But another sickness stop me for a week in Mengzi. "herpes" the doctor said in the hospital. WHAT??? How come I got herpes on my finger? how come how come how come....He said this virus attack when you are weak, when your body's resistance against diseases went low and they comes and get you. so there are couple of water bubbles things on my finger and it hurt like hell. I took the chance to spend the Mid-Autumn Festival with Cai and his parent in Mengzi. Some friends said there should be great atmosphere in Mengzi, but...it turn out a boring place for the festival. nothing actually happened...not even the typical Chinese festival show! in fact...the moon didn't show up like it supposed to be, they not even carry lantern out like we did Hongkong here, but at least I got something they call moon-cake here for the festival!
My finger hurt less and I packed the anti-virus pills then back on the road with....less travel budget!!! Again through Jinggu into Lincang, the same road after 6 months still offered pretty scene, especially up river along the Xiaoheijiang through the valley of trees! not until into Lincang then the tree-line receded and mountain side was carpeted by vegetations and crops. After a brief stay in Lincang I pressed on into Gengma county through the well paved highway. before left Lincang I saw a new bus station stood quietly at the edge of town, think the next time if I ever come back here, there wouldn't be any easy access into town center. I made today destination in Mengyong(@1100m). A town with an huge chimney right at town center where a sugar factory stood. I had miss the market by a day, so the town was pretty quiet by the time I arrived. Mengyong said to be a place with great "fengshui" that was why all the governor-the"Tusi" ordered to be made their tomb here after death in the old day. said there are many of these tomb most could date back about 150 years ago. But many had been destory by a forest fire at 1958, and had been restored by 1987 by their descendants. Unfortuntely I couldn't find many but only one tomb, there was no indication and sign in the mountain, when by chance I came across with some locals, but most of them either had no idea of the tomb or a bit suspicious when I asked about old tomb. "WHY? why you want to see it?" seem like I was a grave digger come to steal their treasure. Finally someone pointed to an white object far in the distant on the mountain side, "near that pagoda and you will find the tomb" he said. through a small trail I find the deserted pagoda hidden inside jungle of corn field inhabited by weed and spider web, a statue written stated the pagoda had been re-erected in 1992, a shrine supposed to be worship by all minorities, but now...a deserted ruin! Nearby on the side of the trail was the tusi tomb that I had find. Anyways...up there on the mountain side you could clearly see the whole Mengyong valley and...a nice walk!

note
bus Lincang to Mengyong 24 yuans.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb