Muyang and Tianpeng market


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
July 16th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

No journey of mine go without market. Once again visited Muyang market and now they switched the market out from the main road into the new developed area on the side street while more lego like buildings was under construction, suddenly the market seem quiet as there was no more traffic jam. Anyways...market is still lively. The majority are the Bailuo(white Yi), the costume style is similar to the Bailuo in Malipo and Xichou, loose long sleeve shirt and long skirt, only the pattern design are different. And here the Bailuo wear long white turban headdress with tiny long pellets decorated both ends, some had one more dark turban lay over on top too. I armed with couple of pictures of anthor Yi subgroup, the Hualuo(flower Yi), I took those photos 6 years ago and trying to located the woman in the picture, this Hualuo had very beautiful costume totally covered by cross-stitching pattern, I only saw one Hualuo woman 6 years ago! and this time I saw 2 but none matched the image on my pictures, still...one of the woman said the woman on the picture is from her village and promised to pass the photos to her for me after I told her the picture was free, no charge! Miao also had great number in the market that filled the street with sharp colour. There also the beautiful dressed Yao participated in the costume scene, I still couldn't confirmed their subgroup name, some said DabanYao and some said GeYao.
Tianpeng(@1500m) situated right at the Vietnamese border but with no official border crossing. It was a busy market with many different hilltribes, the most number should be Han and they dressed like the Zhuang in other area of Yunnan with front apron decorated with a center piece of embroidery, and the Zhuang here was in plain dress like those in Vietnam. Of course there are the same metallic Miao in the market that lived on both sides of the border. And here you could see more appearance of the Hualuo, The head turban, the long sleeve jacket, the baggy trousers and the skirt like back apron, all are covered by kaleidoscope like stitching works in multi-colour. "You want to buy this dress?" a Yi woman asked me when she saw me taking their picture, she then added it will cost 10000 yuan. after she saw me sucked in hot air with my mouth wide opened then she said there are lower quaility one cost about 5000 yuan! I politely turn down her offered and promised to direct whoever interest to buy their costume to their village. I wondered how they came up with the price? But I was sure there should be at least one confirmed 10000 yuan deal in the past. again...I was wondered what kind of people would spend that amount of money? back to the costume scene, there also small number of Bailuo, black Dai and and Yao you could see in the market.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb