Baishuitai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When we arrived early in the morning at the bus station, the bus we had decided to take was fully booked. A plan I left earlier, because I was told there were no buses, I checked again at the bus station. It turned out that there were buses going to Baishuitai and from there further to the start of the Tiger Leaping Gorge! So I jumped alone on that bus. The three hour trip was amazing! The road went over mountain paths, with so many terrific views on different valleys, villages and mountains.

When I was kicked off the bus, one of the touts could tell me in English what time the bus would leave the next day, so I decided to stay in her house (for the astonishing amount of 1 euro). Naturally, the beds are not clean, there was no shower, but I did not expect any different.
The main attraction of the place were some lime stone terraces, which I walked. The few Chinese tourists of course walked behind the fences, because as usual they don't care about keeping things in tact...

Later that day I walked between the rice and vegetables fields to another village and back on the paths the locals use. What wondered me the most is that I always had the feeling I was completely alone, but where ever I was, within maximum 10 minutes (mostly much less) people walk by or I see people working in the fields. I haven't said so many times ‘ni hao’ before as today and also my hand became very tired of waving to everyone. It is obvious that not so many tourists go further than the main street at the entrance of the terraces. For the rest of the day I did not see any tourist. I am sure I was the only tourist in the village, which is very nice obviously. The (dis)advantage is that there is nothing to do other than walking and reading a book. The bus leaved early in the morning, exactly as long as I can fill with doing nothing at all.

The second day, the bus trip was again very beautiful. It took place in a minivan for 7 people in which we ended up with 8 people, a lot of bags and 2 babies. Sometimes there was not really a road and there was a deep cliff, but that was of course also part of the fun! At least the waterfalls on the road were an experience on their own.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The only touristy shop in BaishuitaiThe only touristy shop in Baishuitai
The only touristy shop in Baishuitai

Selling fresh apple juice


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb