Uphill on a Bike!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan
May 19th 2005
Published: July 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hustle or Bustle?Hustle or Bustle?Hustle or Bustle?

The choice is all yours at Dali's colourful and busy markets.
After 3 1/2 weeks living at Wuwei monastary, I have become highly proficient in eating Vegan food, trying to fly, living without electricity and generally making a nuisance of myself. But I yearn for some freedom and to break the grind. highly liberating to finally set out on my chinese bicycle and feel the wind in my hair. It is fairly likely that my bike will fall apart (again), I will get lost, and end up running back to the monastary (my safe haven)... but we'll see.

Leaving behind cobbles and roadworks of Dali, my plan is to cycle to Deqin, the last post in Yunnan before the Tibetan border. The route I plan to take follows not the main highway, but smaller mountain roads through some of the remoter areas, of which I know very little. Just how far I will travel, how long it will take, and where I will go each day are all a mystery to me.

(The following entries will document this trip in what I consider to be the 3 significant phases of the trip).



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Road-worksRoad-works
Road-works

I often think of China as the world's largest construction sites! Road condition was a big unknown for me at the start!


Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 126; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb