Lijiang in a Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Lijiang
May 19th 2012
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I have discovered that I do not like overnight train rides. I rode a train from Kunming to Lijiang on the top bunk in the cart. There were 3 beds on each side. I liked that I was on the most top because Kelly gets motion sickeness and she was below me so I knew that she wouldn't throw up on me. But the train left the station at 10:30, lights were out at 11:30 and the first time I woke up was at 1:10am with motin sickness. I had rolled over onto my stomach that caused me to feel sick. So I flipped over, drank some water, and fell back to sleep. I didn't have any problems after that but I kept waking up because the train kept stopping at various stations because the tracks only allowed for one train going in one direction at one time. (Wu Laoshi later told me this).

At 6:00am the lights went on and by 6:30 I was in Lijiang. After getting a quick shower and some really greasy fried bread from breakfast before heading to Old Lijiang to spend some money. I've found out that I love to bargain with the vendors. I'm really good at it, well I think I'm good. hahaha. I only bought a necklace with an engraving of my Chinese name on it for 10 kuai.
Lunch wasn't too bad. It was a little whole in the wall with various foods, nothing too interesting. (I will dedicate a post to the weird foods that I've eaten on this trip at a later time).
After lunch we went to a museum that was dedicated to the Naxi people (the local people in the area). It showed a lot of their fashion, religion, and every day things.
Dinner was really good. Had normal foods like egg and tomato soup, spicy beef, veggies, rice (of course), and noodles. Now here is the deal with the noodles. They were in this red sauce and had chunks of (what I was told) pork. I only had two small chunks of the pork because the texture was really weird. I had a lot of the noodles though. I found out right after that the chunks were freeze dried pigs blood. That's right PIGS BLOOD!
After dinner a group of us went to a little tea shop to meet a group of Chinese girls that Wu laoshi had met on the train. So we met up with them, but they were only interested in the guys. Kelly and I tried to talk to the Chinese girls but they just looked at each other, giggled, spoke Chinese really fast, and tried to explain to us that they didn't speak English. Even though we asked them questions in English and in Chinese. So a few of broke off from the group and wandered for a few hours until coming back to the hotel.

That was my wonderful one day in Lijiang. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb