Working in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Before I came to China, somebody asked me if I was going to work here. I said yes, beacause I don't like wasting time. But now I have a feeling it's actually all about killing it.
I'm not feeling here well as everyone probably knows since I'm not hiding it at all. I'm not hiding either that every day my aggression, irritation and anger towards this environment raise more and more.

So when I got three jobs, I accepted all of them.
Work as a "therapy"? I guess so... The best way "not to think" and not to spend too much time with just myself.
First I work in... the Chinese preschool. Yes, I teach Chinese kids English, which actually makes me happy. Although 36 kids in one group sometimes scares me. After I come back from the preschool, I teach the bar staff from the bar I go to every day. And then in the late evening I work in the bar as... a bartender. It seems that there are many things the Chinese people still don't know about mixing drinks.

So right now my day looks like this: classes from 8:30am till 12:00, after that about one hour break and then catching the bus and going to work in the preschool from 2:30pm till 5:40pm. Then going straight to teach the bar staff from 6:30pm till 8:00pm and then working as a bartender from 8:00pm till 10:00pm. (during the weekends also till 10:00pm)
There is nothing like boredom anymore. And there is nothing like free time for myself either. Every day is the same, the time passes by faster and although my thoughts about how lonly I feel still sit my head, my thoughts about how I hate this place disappear during the day because I'm busy working. They come back though when I come back home and find a few more cockroaches in my room before going to sleep...
After that I only thank God in my thoughts that another day is over.

***

Zanim przyjechalam do Chin, pewna osoba zapytala mnie czy zamierzam tu pracowac. Powiedzialam, ze tak, ze nie lubie marnowac czasu. Teraz mam wrazenie, ze chodzi bardziej o zabicie go.
Nie jest mi tu dobrze o czym juz chyba kazdy wie i czego ani troche nie ukrywam. Nie ukrywam tez wcale, ze z dnia na dzien, poziom agresji, irytacja i zlosc jaka wywoluje we mnie to srodowisko wzrasta coraz bardziej.

W momencie, kiedy dostalam trzy propozycje pracy, zaakceptowalam wszystkie.
Praca jako "terapia"? Chyba tak... Najlepszy sposob, zeby "nie myslec" i nie przebywac z sama soba.
Najpierw pracuje wiec w... chinskim przedszkolu. Tak, ucze angielskigo chinske dzieci, co w zasadzie sprawia mi przyjemnosc. Choc 36 osob w jednej grupie czasami mnie przeraza. Po powrocie z przedszkola ucze angielskiego obsluge zaprzyjaznionego baru po czym poznym wieczorem w owym barze pracuje jako... barmanka. Okazuje sie bowiem, ze Chinczycy nie wiedza wielu rzeczy o mieszaniu drinkow.

W chwili obecnej moj dzien wyglada wiec nastepujaco: zajecia od 8:30 do 12:00, potem okolo godziny przerwy, nastepnie autobus i praca w przedszkolu od 14:30 do 17:40. Potem szybki powrot i nauka angielskiego od 18:30 do 20:00 i od 20:00 do 22:00 praca w barze. (Praca w weekendy rowniez do 22:00.)
O nudzie wiec nie ma mowy. Nie ma mowy nawet o czasie wolnym dla siebie. Kazdy dzien wyglada tak samo, czas plynie znacznie szybciej i choc moje mysli o tym jak samotnie sie tu czuje wciaz siedza mi w glowie to mysli o tym jak nienawidze tego miejsca w ciagu dnia na troche znikaja, poniewaz jestem zajeta praca. Wracaja jednak kiedy ja wracam do domu i pozbywam sie kolejnych kilku karaluchow z pokoju przed pojsciem spac...
Potem juz tylko dziekuje w myslach Bogu, ze kolejny dzien minal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb