The Stone Forest


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
June 28th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Outside of town, about an hour by bus, is the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Stone Forest. It was on my list of places to see and recommended by all of my friends so I was determined to see it.

A girl I met at breakfast also wanted to see it, so we set out for the bus station around 11:30. We arrived at the park after dozing on the bus around 2pm.

It's a bit pricey to get it, but it was a pretty cool thing to see. The rocks, or stones I guess, were huge. Dwarfing. And there were so many of them it was daunting. I was expecting a few really big rocks, maybe some with cool shapes, but not much more. That is essentially what I got, but the stones were taller, more majestic, and there were thousands of them all spread out over a park.

It wasn't the high point of my trip, but it was certainly impressive.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb