We did it! out of Kunming and in Jinhong


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Jinghong
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After laughing off my haircut and boarding our luxurious sleeper train (I felt like I was in japan again on an immaculantly clean bus with small perks like goody bags, plastic socks to cover our shoes and nylons for our feet = no stink bomb smell like the last sleeper bus! We each had our own beds and another no smoking sign made breathing beautiful.

The ride itself was a little bumpy - I was sleeping in the middle row on the top bunk bed which allowed me to feel every turn and curve the bus made, thus tossed from side to side between the two metal bars holding me in place. A somewhat sleepless ride but it was great to arrive in Jinhong the next morning.

We walked through the dark morning streets lined with palm trees to find an outdoor eatery serving all the elementary and middle school kids breakfast before heading off to school in their uniforms with little red scarves around their necks. We had noodle-soup, fried dough and soy milk for breakfast with them, and have now found our way to this basement internet bar killing time as we wait for the city to wake up.

Advertisement



19th January 2007

Sooo jealous....
I wish I was there with you on these great adventures. Hope you have fun through the rest of your travels!
23rd January 2007

Unlimited Beer in Jinhong
In march 1996 Thomas and I drank down 2 Norwegians until 8.00 am, in an all night beer fest on the cafe terrases of the town, after a wonderfull Thai meal. Have fun. Helen and I are on Little Cumberland Island until march 15! Hugs, Pieter

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb