Urumqi to Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang
October 27th 2005
Published: November 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Chinese RailwayChinese RailwayChinese Railway

On the way through the desert in Xinjiang.
Distances in West-China are huge. So transport is often overnight. From Kashgar to Urumqi a fast (22h) connection is by sleeper bus. I haven't seen this kind of bus before. It contains three rows of bunk beds. A single bed is not to big, the feet are in a box below the head of the man in front. But it's still a lot more comfortable than a bus seat.
Even nicer is going by train, hard sleeper. This possibility I used from Urumqi to Beijing. You get a good, long enough, clean and quite comfortable bed. And you can really sleep, the train is modern and smoothly supported. For having your instant noodle soup, a cup of tea or a porridge there is hot water onboard. So while the desert was passing outside I enjoyed my time with reading, sleeping, having food and trying to chat with the Chinese family that joined my compartment. All together it's 45h, so I spent two nights on the train.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Hard SleeperHard Sleeper
Hard Sleeper

is the name of this luxurious travel categorie. Honestly, I never sleeped so well on a train.
Beijing West Railway StationBeijing West Railway Station
Beijing West Railway Station

It's the biggest I've ever seen. And I think quite beautiful for a railway station.


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 34; qc: 170; dbt: 0.1602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb