High-ho silver, AWAY!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang
July 20th 2005
Published: July 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

10:00am, In my yurt (a yurt is a big tent)
I woke up with a fever. I went to the W.C twice this morning and i had to go again as soon as i woke up. I felt really bad. Despite this, i went horseriding again for an hour. Julie and Bethany have gone back to Kashgar. After horsey-time, i went back to my yurt and lay there for an hour. I couldn't sleep, my stomach had cramps. I had some bread for breakfast, packed my bags and went to the road to hitch-hike to either kashgar, or taxkorgan. Either way, they have toilets in their rooms their so it wouldn't be as bad as here where i have to walk half a kilometer to use the toilet which is not even a toilet but a camel paddock. So imagine, doing your business with two camels watching every hour. I couldnt stand it.

12:00pm, Roadside
I waited for a vehicle to pass by other than construction trucks, none did. Finally, i leaned on a pole under a shade and fell asleep. I awoke with a bus blaring his honk at me. I jumped, grabbed my backpack and got on the bus. It was filled with Kyrgyz and Uighurs. I like the ethnic minorities because they do not croak and spit and friendly but undortunately, they smell really bad. REALLY BAD.

4:00pm, Taxkorgan
There is an old fort here i wanted to visit and apparently it was one of the main forts to guard the silk road passes. Unfortunately i really had a bad fever so i checked into a slightly expensive hotel (i could not do dorms, they do not have attached bathroom) and went straight to bed. Coincidentially again, among all the hotels in Taxkorgan, i was in the room NEXT to Ryan so i hung out with him at the night market for about half an hour and went back to bed. I wouldn't be able to visit the fort since my bus leaves early morning and if i missed that, staying overnight at taxkorgan would not be a good idea since the only thing worth seeing is the fort.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd July 2005

wah lau..
Ae, the view is breathtaking. But put 2 and 2 together and we'll all know what you're doing when taking the shot with the camel in the foreground..immediately tak jadi breath taking..more like hold your breath!! Anyway ae, keep the spirits up! Doin a great job!
22nd July 2005

Ha Ha
I think I can assume what you were doing taking the photo of the camel. the outdoor snooker, now wouldnt you like that

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb