Stomach Ache


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang
July 19th 2005
Published: July 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

First off, just let me say how much everyone's comments mean to me. It keeps me excited to explore more of China. It gets really hard most of the time but the rewards are infitely satisfying. My diorrhea is getting worse but me being the blind and courageous me, got up early and booked a 7 hour bus ride into a lake near the border of Tajikistan and Kashmere which is the eastern most point of China.

8:00am, Qini Bagh Hotel
Last night, i met Ryan again. He was this american dude that i shared my dorm a week ago in Xiahe (the tibetan monastery). So it happens that he was going the same direction as i was. He was headed to Taxkorgan, and i, Karakul Lake. So early morn, we set off towards the long distance bus station.

9:00am, Long Distance Bus Station
Dammit. We got condused with the timing. The bus was supposed to leave at 10:00am Xinjiang time and this american guy thought it was on Beijing time which is two hours later. I don't blame him for making that mistake. The whole china was supposed to use Beijing time but Xinjiang is a region that, put it simply, would rather NOT be apart of China. So, i walked back to my hostel, had some nice english coffee at the Caravan Cafe, and exchanged a book with another traveller. When the clock struck 9:00 local time, i headed back to the bus station and off to Karakul.

1:00pm, Karakarom Highway
Its not much of a highway lemme tell you that. Its a DIRT ROAD. And most part is still under construction. The bus was bobbing up and down and it didn't help my stomach. I couldn't hold it. As we continued further, the road got worse and my stomach was about to explode. I stopped the bus driver and did it at the desert near a bush. I felt like a bushmen of the kalahari. It was extremely unpleasant. It didn't help that the whole bus knew so when i got back on, i felt really MALU!!!! Thank goodness too because two american ladies noticed my demise and they offered me two diorrhea pills. I swallowed and the disco in my bowels subsided. You guys probably didnt want to know that but i thought i should write whatever that happened to me. Hehehehe.. Anyway, besides the bowel-disco, the view on the way up was AMAZING!!

5:00pm, Karakul Lake
Ryan went on further to Taxkorgan and i was dropped off at the lake with Julie and Bethany. Bethany is officially the first Jew i met. Well, shes american-jew. Um... actually shes half jew, quarter irish and quarter cherokee. The only stereotype charachter i can point out about her is that she talks a lot and have curly hair. Both Julie and Bethany was a blast to hang out with. We rented a yurt (30 yuan each) anbd shared it with a Kyrgyz family, i went horse-riding with Bethany for two hours and we hanged out with the locals here. It was Bethany's first time horse-riding. This time, i was much better!!

9:00pm, Karakul Lake
After watching the sunrise, we had dinner with the Kyrgyz family (noodles with milk tea) and after a long walk around the lake, i went to bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



21st July 2005

Let me just say that I have been following your travel blog- and I was so scared for you as I was reading the Hantu blog.. I am so proud of you Ail... Take care okay. We love you!
22nd July 2005

haloss
been following closely your adventure in china through your stories.I even subscribe to it okays! Atleast i know you are still alive! i love your photos so take more!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb